PA legal questions regarding engine swap - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-10-2008, 09:11 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

PA legal questions regarding engine swap

Hey all, just found this wealth of info known as hotrodders.com and am i impressed! I'll quickly give a little about myself, mechanical engineer by trade i own a 1952 Studebaker truck, and 95 mustang convertible (others as well but nothing of note) i also have a pretty decent machine shop built in my garage.

For both my truck and mustang i plan on engine swaps (as in have engines and am in process, not just wishful thinking) . The truck doesn't seem like it will be much of a deal because of its age, but for my mustang I'm planning on putting a non-stock engine in it. I did a search and found some info but just looking for more up-to-date and clarification. My car is road legal as is, with current inspection, If i swap a different engine in there i know it should be re-titled as re-constructed, and i understand how to go through that painful process, but what i don't understand is where that is enforced, for the yearly inspection I've seen nothing that states "reject if engine is modified or one of non-stock type for model and year" in the inspection criteria. So how does it work? OK now lets assume I've gone through the re-titling and enhanced inspection...what would tell someone (inspector for example) that I've gone through all of this? I've been lead to believe that it may rely more on the police as in they are the enforcers...is this true?

Thanks for any and all input
dstrutt

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-10-2008, 09:28 AM
Home School Valedictorian