paint problem - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2005, 04:34 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

paint problem

I've been painting cars for a hobby for about 8 years . I've allways used sherwin williams or dimensions paint. Every time i paint lately it goes on shiney and looks good but as it dries it looks like sand was thrown in it.i've tried base coat, acrylic, and urethane and all the same. i've tried every reducer at every temp and air pressure that i could think of. iIclean the car with purple cleaner and dawn like i always have and wipe it down with western select paint prep. i've been told it was everything from the weather too hot ,to solvent pop, too contaminents in my air supply so i bought the best filters i cou' ld find painted when it was 60 degrees 75 and still got the same problem. I tried a different brand og paint in a spray can (valspar) and did'nt have a problem, i even used old paint from previous projects that did fine when i painted them but now it is messing up with the old paint too. I think it might be the reducer, is their any chance of something in the reducer might have been changed from the company? I'm about ready to give up and throw in the towel, but if anyone has an idea what might bee wrong it wou'ld bee greatly appreciated.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-08-2005, 08:30 PM

Last photo: