Hot Rod Forum banner

Painting a computer case?

2K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  Grump 
#1 ·
Hi all,

I'm a first time poster here at
. I would like to consider myself a hot rodder, but many people think I might just be a wannabe. My rides are meager as far as hot rods go, but they are mine.

But my most proud hot rod really isn't an auto, but it has similar bling:

I was recently priviledged to have that computer featured in CPU Magazine (Oct. issue, page 96). I have been asked to write an article for Sandhills Publishing, to be included in a special edition in a few months. The article is on basic computer modifying (we call it "modding") -- cutting the metal case for a side window and maybe a blow hole (for a fan) and painting it. The painting part is why I came here.

Part of the article includes a side bar on painting preparation and tips. Although I am familiar with painting and think I've done an acceptable job, I am not a pro. I know that some of you are, or at least are much more experienced than I. My thought is that it would be interesting and even entertaining to have people like you offer those tips.

The article, which revolves around me modifying a case, step by step, has a deadline of early November. If I can have your permission to use some of your quotes, in the form of tips, etc. for the side bar, I will mention Hotrodders Bulletin Board and attribute each quote to your screen name. I will not use your quote without your permission or the permission of the site administrator (moderator: please forward this as a request to the site admin).

Thank you for indulging me. I am sure the readers of Computer Power User (CPU) Magazine, Smart Computing and Sandhills Publishing will appreciate your insight. You can contact me via PM or email (Grump@GrumpsPlace.com), but your tips and comments will be most helpful right here on the forum.

Thank you,

Grump

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
"I'd like you to meet my little friend Mister Paint."