Painting Fiberglass Jeep - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2010, 08:33 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Painting Fiberglass Jeep

Hi,

I'm getting ready to prep my fiberglass jeep body for paint. This is a new fiberglass body that I've let sit in the sun to make sure it has been cured. I'm a novice to painting and have been reading my sources on the necessary steps to create a nice paint job. I"ll post some pics, but it's for a 1978 CJ5 so there aren't many curves except on the hood and fenders. Below are the list of steps I plan to take to prime the Jeep. Oh and I've already picked the color for the jeep. It's Daytona Blue. Again, I'm a novice so if I'm leaving stuff out I'd be glad to hear from you all. Since this is the first vehicle I will have painted, I'm not expecting to produce a show quality car, but I'm aiming for something durable, and looks better than if I were to roll and tip the paint job.

1. Wash with warm soapy water.
2. Allow to dry.
3. Degrease with scotch-brite pad and Super Clean Deagreaser (it's biodegradable so I just grabbed it).
4. Sand body and fenders with 80-100 grit.
5. Inspect for pin holes and low spots (I plan on using Evercoat filler and glazing putty...any suggestions?).
6. Sandy fill areas with 180 grit (Is filler easily sand-able...should I use 220 grit?).
7. Air blow surface to get dust off and degrease again.
8. Shoot with epoxy primer (to seal fiberglass) and primer gun.