Painting... help getting started.... - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-09-2011, 09:11 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Painting... help getting started....

Ok so here goes...

This is going to be my first project, and hopefully is something I will continue for the rest of my life. I love doing anything work related with my hands. I am currently an ASE master technician, and have been working on cars for almost 12 years. The compressor I have for my home use seems that it would be more than adequate for any thing I need it to do. it is an ingersol 80 gallon verticle two stage, with another 80 gallon tank piggybacked. I need some help getting ideas on what to pick for a spraying outfit... there is just too much information to sift through, for someone who hasn't shot paint before. I am not sure what kind of filtering system is needed... they range on these is wide, and not sure what is NEEDED. I plan to use bulb filters at the gun as well. Was thinking about a digital pressure reg at the gun as well. I am leaning toward sata for a finishing gun... but not sure which model would be best. I am not sure what would be good for a primer gun as well. My first vehicle is going to be color changing from silver to black, and I want to be able to see myself in the paint clearly when I am done... kinda like the pics of the hood posted up in the "cloudy clear" post. I will take the time, and I am a perfectionist... Also what line of paint is going to be easy to spray, with the best end result...? I am not worried about the cost of the gun.. I will spend up to 800 if need be. I am sure the opinions on all of this are going to be a wide range... but any help is appreciated...

Thanks!
Ray

Advertisement