Painting raw aluminum wheels (reaction) need guidance - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-12-2010, 08:47 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Painting raw aluminum wheels (reaction) need guidance

Hey guys. First off let me say this (as I'm sure is pretty obvious), I am no professional when it comes to refinishing/body work. I have been on the mechanical side for a couple of years and think I do alright but when it comes to refinishing I tend to struggle. So now that that's out of the way let me tell you what's going on:

My boss wanted a set of wheels painted so I offered to do it for him to try to impress him . So far that's not working out. After consulting a friend of mine that is a VERY good painter and consulting the local paint store I decided to prime the raw aluminum wheels with Standox 1k adhesion primer (red brown). I was told this would etch the aluminum nicely and then I could continue with a 2k primer to fill scratches etc. So I went over the red brown with a Dupont 2k urethane primer. After a couple of hours I sanded the primer flat and then shot Imran 3.5 FT flat black paint. Everything looked great once paint was applied. About 30 minutes later I noticed the paint was lifting and it appeared as though there were thousands of little "bubbles" in my paint. I typically let my primer sit for about 8 hours. Well last night I was wanting to get this done so that it could cure all day today. The primer had been down for 3 hours by time I started laying paint. It appears as if there was a reaction to something and I'm not understanding what exactly happened. If anybody has any advice it would be GREATLY appreciated. Sorry for so many details.

Raw wheels

Uploaded with ImageShack.us