Panel adhesive question. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-13-2009, 08:31 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Panel adhesive question.

I'm new to using panel adhesive and have a couple quick questions I'm hoping a few of you can answer. The first question; I know you screw the panel in place while the glue dries. But once the glue is dry and you take the screws out,how do you fill the screw holes? And what do you use to fill the holes? I'm going to be glueing the cab corners on an 85 Chevy pick-up,which leads me to my second question.I want to replace a section of the rockerpanel about one foot long. If I overlap the rocker with the old metal can I use panel adhesive? Or is this a part of the truck that is best welded on? I've never used this stuff before so any advice would be appreciated. The reason I want to go this route is because I dont have axcess to a good welder at the moment. Mine got stolen and I just dont have the money to replace it right now. Thanks.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-13-2009, 11:58 AM

Last photo:

I use two part epoxy filler for the screw holes. It's waterproof and hard as can be. POR-15 sells some two part epoxy putty that's the bomb diggity.

Adhesive is fine for rocker panel patch replacement. In the instructions that come with the 3M epoxy adhesive I used on my last repair, they showed it as OK to put a whole roof skin on, and a whole quarter panel too, as well as a whole door skin, so you will be A-OK.
Old 05-14-2009, 06:01 AM

What brand of adhesive are you using? I'm thinking of using duramix. I already have the gun for that brand. So I'm thinking that would be a decent enough product.