Picking a spray gun - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2011, 10:02 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Picking a spray gun

after reading all the treads on spray guns, ive gotten a headache. im also in the market of purchasing a spray gun, Im a novice, hobby use. but want to see the quality of the job.
My ques. is, are there any threads where members have posted pics of there paint jobs that they layed with the paint gun they recommend. This would make it alot easier to get an idea of the type of gun you might want to get and justify how much your willing to shell out for. thnx

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-15-2011, 09:05 PM

Top of the line

I stopped painting 30+ years ago, but I know the one thing you cannot go cheap is a GOOD gun. I still own a Sharpe Cobalt Blue. They don't make these anymore since the advancement of better guns nowadays. I'm in the market for a new Base and Clear coat. Iwata LPH 400 is at the top of my list and the rest follow. I have visited with local paint shops that do quality work. The common link is Iwata, and some Binks and DevilBiss. But like this site, the selection is endless and you want to get it right once, the first time. I'll keep looking at this thread for some experienced input before I make up my mind too. Good Luck.
Old 05-16-2011, 12:20 PM

Last photo:

S/T .. I am a tourist - that loves finish work?! I have a 'primer gun' - an inexpensive, 1.4 tip, gravity from Harbor Freight. I recently got a 'sprayable filler' gun, 2.3 tip from TP Tools, also pretty inexpensive .. and then a DeVilbiss GFG-670+ gun for the good stuff. (I got it off Ebay saving enough to pay for the filler gun.)