Pics of amature using SPI primers - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2006, 10:32 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Pics of amature using SPI primers

Ok guys, I am a beginner, and I am working with a body guy, but he's seldom there when I spray. I am paying him to teach me to do body work and prep for paint, as well as help out on a variety of things.

So anyway, I ran out of PPG Omni epoxy, and while I had some high build primer left, I wanted to try the SPI high build I had heard so much good about.

The body guy had me block with 80 first (Omni expoxy and high build) and we took off most of the Omni products on the top and he put glaze on it, and we sanded that down blocking with 80 grit. I applied 2 coats of SPI black expoy over the bare filler on the top of the car.

The roof had a vinyl top, so the rust was pretty bad and my repair job was far from flat when finished.

The quarters, trunk and rest of the back half were all covered in black SPI epoxy as well. Then a couple days later sprayed with SPI 2K high build, using a cheap Harbor Frieght paint gun. I used a 1.4 tip for the expoxy and 1.7 for the 2k high Build. I hope that was right? I didn't have any troubles with the 1.4, but that 1.7 tip always gives me a variety of problems, including leaks.

My wife said to me tonight "I don't see why you pay all that money for primer when you sand it all off after spraying!"

The first picture you see will be the black epoxy primer over raw metal and bare filler in most spots.

The second should be the 2K High Build on the quarter.

The final one is after block sanding the 2k with 120 grit using mostly long boards.

Steve
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version