pinion depth - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2008, 09:49 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

pinion depth

OK so as I wrote in my other thread titled "mini spool" I got a 3 series carrier with 373 ring and pinion from a mid 90's astro van that I want to install in my 82' cutlass supreme. I know about the difference in the axles 26/28 spline. my question is how do I know what to set the pinion depth at? I has a good magnetic base dial caliper to measure it, but how do I know what to set the new one to??

Can I just measure the depth of the pinion thats in there now and set the new one to the same hieght, or will I hafta change the depth due the the gearing swap?? I am new to rear ends, and have NEVER fully changed a ring and pinion. I'm more of an engine builder myself, but I know it all must work together to reach its full potential, thats why this swap must be made.... The gears that are in there now aren't near enough for my big cam and 3500 stall.. Any advice would be appreciated!!

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-21-2008, 10:05 AM

Last photo:

As a novice. Your best bet is to set the pinion up on the stock pinion shim that was in the carrier. Then use gear marking compound and check for contact pattern. Adjusting pinion depth and side gear lash till you get acceptable results. Get a book on the subject and READ!. Not a job for a novice, but with a bit of time and common sense will work.
Old 12-21-2008, 12:28 PM

Last photo:

If you are getting "new" gears not just new to you. The new pinion should be plainly marked with the proper pinion depth....Usually marked with an engraver on the pinion end.......