Pinting door hinges - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2009, 02:12 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Painting door hinges

I was wondering what the best way is to paint the door hinges? I have a 68 firebird and wanted to remove the door hinges and paint them seperately in order to ensure that I get the whole hinge painted (hang it on a hook from a rack then paint it). I was studying them recently while they were bolted to the car and it looked to me like I wasnt going to be able to get the door hinges completely covered with a nice coat of paint. Im a newer painter so I am not skilled enough to spray glass right out of the gun......so that worries me too when it comes to painting the hinges if they were bolted to the car. Plus I really want to try and paint them a gloss black with the rest of the car being red (I dont know why ).

Plus it seems to me that the hinges are prone to having the paint chip or crack etc so I was wondering if its best to epoxy them and then go straight to the single stage urethane Im going to use or ?

Any guidance or help on this is appreciated. Thx

Advertisement

Last edited by esahlin; 06-05-2009 at 02:29 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-05-2009, 02:34 PM

Last photo:

What I normally do is take them off and blast them down to metal. Then shoot them with epoxy primer. Then spray the paint while epoxy is still in its open window, which would mean no sanding them at all. Sure beats trying to sand a hinge with all the nooks and crannys well enough, and the likelyhood of paint chipping off because something wasn't sanded well enough.
Old 06-06-2009, 11:29 AM

Last photo:

Thx Kenseth17!
Old 06-06-2009, 11:42 AM