Please Help A Newbie Select The Proper Cam - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-14-2008, 01:33 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Please Help A Newbie Select The Proper Cam

Hey guys, And Gals.

This is my first time posting on the site, And I have to say, Its incredable. I look forword to learning alot from everyone here.

So heres the scoop:

I have 12 days befor I head to school for my apprenticeship, and would like to see my car running again.

I dont want to just run out and buy a "big" cam and see what happens. If im spending money and time, I want to make it as worth wile as possible.

Ive looked into the selecting a cam thing on google, and have been over welmned by all the info. I fugure, asking people with hands on expreience will be my best bet.

I want a cam that will give me the most possible torque and horsepower, while still having enough vacuum to operate my brakes between 0-5500 rpm.
I I have to make a vacuum resivoiur, its not that big of a deal. So I want it to be close!

I want all my power from off the line, to 5500 rpm like I said above, Im not looking to race. I just want to be thrown back out of the hole, while driving around town. I want torque, more than horse power.

Heres are the specs on my mild motor:

78 monte carlp
86 vette l98 -not aluminun 350
edlebrock performer intake
edelbrock 650 performer carb,
700r4 outof the vette
3:55 Rear end
non shorty headers with 3 inch dual exhaust, (no x or y pipe)
have the nasty 462624 heads. there 76 cc
9:1 compression
Dont know if the heads are 1.9 intake or 2.2?

I have to get back to work, I will check back in couple hours, and edit my post for grammer and spelling, and add more info if needed.