Please help with opinions on replacing Camaro rear subframe rails - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2003, 09:53 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Please help with opinions on replacing Camaro rear subframe rails

I hope this is OK...I originally posted this question in 'General Tech' but didn't receive and responses so please take a look and see if you have any advice for me...any help will be greatly appreciated to fix my problem as I realize this is a big safety issue.
I just need opinions from people that have had this same problem and how they conquered it or reasons not the try it a certain way.........See First post Below.

I am a newbie here and have searched all over the Hotrodders bulletin board and everywhere else I can find on the net to find help on replacing the rear frame rails on my 71' Camaro with no luck. Has Anyone had to do this? The frame rails themselves are very rusted through and some of the sheet-metal underneath but the floor-pans inside are good. I bought the car from a guy that told me the frame rails needed to be replaced and even gave me the rails that run from the back lief spring connections to where the rail turns down (kinda like an L shape) but the part that is rusted out the worst is the part that connects to the rails I have and turns toward the front of the car. I can't find those pieces anywhere. Please offer any help any of you may have for me, it will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-14-2003, 12:18 AM
OddJob

Last photo:

Have you looked in your local wrecking yards. There must be quite a few cars with that same body type out there.