Plug Wires, Cross arc-ing?? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2004, 08:25 PM
arch's Avatar
My bike has 4wheel disc brakes
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 382
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Plug Wires, Cross arc-ing??

Friend has a V6 with a distributorless ignition system (coil pack). The engine has been knocking at higher rpms. We've been all over the place trying to find the problem. Tonight, we noticed that EVERY spark plug wire is arcing to the engine/intake/or another wire close to it. While watching two wires in the dark with the engine running, you can see bright blue glow between the entire length of wires when they are 1cm or less apart. So we changed wires, 4 times, from 3 different places. Set on there now are the dealership recomended wires bought from the dealer. I've never seen brand new wires arc like this. Right though the shielding, nothing is exposed. Whats goin on?? Anybody ever seen this before?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2004, 09:06 PM
DoubleVision's Avatar
Not Considered a Senior Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heart Of Dixie
Age: 40
Posts: 10,658
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 59 Times in 56 Posts
Yes, this has been a problem for many years and usually, spiral core spark plug wires eliminate the problem. But it`s still important to route them correctly in order to keep them far enough apart to help keep it under control.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2004, 10:17 PM
arch's Avatar
My bike has 4wheel disc brakes
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 382
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Really... hmm... cant believe I've never heard about it before... or maybe i have and im just not remembering...

Problem is, only way to route the wires is right next to each other. about 1-2cm apart
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2004, 10:38 PM
Jmark's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: phoenix
Age: 61
Posts: 4,815
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
I wonder if its normal for them to do that? Like the magnetic fields causing a slight glow from the wires that really doesn't cause any misfiring. The only way they can cross fire is if you have a break or porousity in the shielding on the cables. Hard to believe that you've tried 4 sets and all of them are bad. Maybe your miss is caused by something else and not the wires.
My wifes previous Buick 3.8 had the wires routed bundled together under the big plastic engine cover and we never had any problems, and that thing put out some serious voltage!

Last edited by Jmark; 10-05-2004 at 11:07 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2004, 10:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: calgary canada
Posts: 727
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Replace the leads they probably have damaged insulation also check and regap the spark plugs, to large a gap can cause the coil voltage to go high enough to increase the chance of spark jump
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2004, 11:47 PM
troy-curt's Avatar
Shop Owner And Troll Hunter
 

Last journal entry: Detailing Eng. Compartment
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Prairie Grove Ar.
Age: 76
Posts: 2,646
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It's a common problem when the wires are to close together and you have something causing a resistance, such as bad plugs or the wrong gap.

Troy

__________________
If you don't make mistakes. your not doing anything.

69 SS/RS full custom Camaro 98 ISCA Grand Champion
69 SS/RS BB Camaro wifes driver
66 Elcamino 350/all dz parts,ac,windows,loaded,my driver
69 SS Chevelle BB conv.fresh frame off
26 T sedan street rod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2004, 06:01 AM
1BAD80's Avatar
The Smell of Nitro in the morn
 
Last wiki edit: How to adjust valves Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Mich
Posts: 2,423
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
I had 3 sets of accell 300+ wires in less than 2 years go bad, plus foul the plugs by jumping spark from all over each wire.
I now have mallorys for a year without any problem.
Its not the setup, just junk wires.
my $200. worth of bad wire of opinion.
__________________
Luv the smell of NITRO in the morning.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2004, 09:03 AM
killerformula's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Carburetor
Last journal entry: Clean up
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northeast
Age: 34
Posts: 3,485
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 13
Thanked 27 Times in 18 Posts
Oh I've seen them arc! 1BAD told me how to wait till its dark and mist some water over the wires.

Damned supersucker accel wires looked like 4th of july under there.

Super 40 morosos now, thing *'s and gets.

K
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2004, 08:50 PM
arch's Avatar
My bike has 4wheel disc brakes
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 382
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
huh...

Alright, well, I'll go see him tomorrow and take out the plugs check em out and re-gap them and see what happens then...

Never really seen new wires arc without some kind of break in the insulation... Learning something everyday.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2004, 08:14 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia ???
Age: 56
Posts: 159
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is there a bad earth wire (grounding wire ),,.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2004, 10:00 AM
arch's Avatar
My bike has 4wheel disc brakes
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MD
Posts: 382
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Theres a grounding strap that goes directly to one of the bolts for the coil pack. Its been checked and rechecked... seems fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.