Pont. 389 oil capacity??? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2004, 05:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: los angeles
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Pont. 389 oil capacity???

Anybody know how many quarts of oil a Pontiac 389 is supposed to take? No modifications done.
Thanks!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2004, 04:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 454
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
A 389 with stock pan will hold 5 quarts of oil. You can safely go with 6 quarts in 400's and 455's but stay at 5 in the 389.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2004, 09:08 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: los angeles
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks!

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2004, 11:45 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Don't want to ask a stupid question but- Why the difference in capacities for the 389 and the 400 and up? As I understand the Poncho block it's the same pan, what am I missing thinking about that would jstify the added quart?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2004, 07:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 454
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
yes they use the same pans but the 400,428 and 455's have better oiling systems and thus can handle the added capacity. You can open up the oil galleys and ports in the rotating assembly and lifter galleys to handle more pressure and capacity.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2004, 07:50 PM
BuickLeSabre1960's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Flamethrower trial
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mount Pleasant S.C.
Age: 26
Posts: 115
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My brothers takes 7 quarts to get it to the full line
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2004, 07:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 454
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
In my 400 I normally run 5-6 quarts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2004, 08:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 454
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
60Buickrod if your brother has any kind of oil pressure and is running a Pontiac he will eventually blow out the rear seal as it is a rope seal and will only stand so much pressure before it starts leaking constantly. The only way I would go more than six quarts is with a remote filter setup and oil cooler then would have to give alot of thought. Like I said I normally run 5-6 in my 400 but normally 5 with a Melling pump, stock pan and full length windage tray. If your brother has ever been in the engine and didn't put the bottom section of the dipstick tube back in through the windage tray then that could be one reason why it doesn't read right. Another could be it has the long top tube for an A/C equipped car and the short non A/C dipstick. The only other way to increase oil capacity on a Pontiac is to change to an aftermarket pan. Then you would need to run 7-8 quarts of oil.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-18-2004, 07:58 PM
BuickLeSabre1960's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Flamethrower trial
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mount Pleasant S.C.
Age: 26
Posts: 115
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I checked the manuals and it said it will take 6 quarts. He hasn't rebuilt it and I'm gonna check about the length of the rod when we get it back. thanx
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.