Pontiac 301 to 400 Swap - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2010, 12:08 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Pontiac 301 to 400 Swap

Trying to do some research on a '79 Firebird 301 engine swap to a 400.. How difficult would this swap be? Would the 301's TH350 Trans work? What work would need to be done to get the 400 in there?

Looking for any information on this

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2010, 10:40 AM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EliminatorXR7
Trying to do some research on a '79 Firebird 301 engine swap to a 400.. How difficult would this swap be? Would the 301's TH350 Trans work? What work would need to be done to get the 400 in there?

Looking for any information on this
If you use a '70-up block, the swap is easy. The 301 has a shorter deck height than the other Pontiac engines, so some of the accessory brackets may be affected by this when used on the 400, but if you can, get the 400 w/as much of the front engine accessory bracketry as possible- unless you find that the 301's brackets fit.

The trans will bolt up w/o issue, as will the driveshaft. I'd recommend you run headers and plan on installing them when you swap engines to make it easier.

The radiator might be on the small side, unless the car already has HD cooling.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2010, 11:21 AM
68NovaSS's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Working with chromed bolts
Last journal entry: New to me T-Bucket
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nine Mile Falls, Washington
Posts: 5,217
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 99
Thanked 130 Times in 121 Posts
Also, if you intend to swap out the 350 for a 400 trans, make sure it's a BOP unit, or you'll need a bell housing adapter.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2010, 04:45 PM
Onefunponcho's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 204
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
2x on what cobalt said about the headers. Having installed a couple of f-body header sets it is so much better to install them with the motor out. I believe I made up some new swear words when I did a set in a four speed car with the engine in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2010, 05:17 PM
68NovaSS's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Working with chromed bolts
Last journal entry: New to me T-Bucket
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nine Mile Falls, Washington
Posts: 5,217
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 99
Thanked 130 Times in 121 Posts
I had a bugger of a time trying to drop 389's into two different '65 GTO's with Hooker headers already on, both 4 speed cars. Couldn't do it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2010, 06:22 PM
Onefunponcho's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: San Antonio TX
Posts: 204
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 68NovaSS
I had a bugger of a time trying to drop 389's into two different '65 GTO's with Hooker headers already on, both 4 speed cars. Couldn't do it.
I hear ya.... The only way it worked in my 67 lemans was while i lowered the engine into place I had to fish the zbar through the headers bolt it to its bracket first and guide it on the pivot while I lowered the motor onto the mounts. Was a mother the first time but after about 5 times in and out with the motor I got pretty good at keeping three things lined up with only two hands.

What a process
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2010, 07:17 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lancaster, CA
Posts: 229
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
can you actually lower the motor in with the headers on? the 3 times ive done it i had the motor sitting just above the mounts. i think its a bear either way.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2010, 09:37 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cobalt327
If you use a '70-up block, the swap is easy. The 301 has a shorter deck height than the other Pontiac engines, so some of the accessory brackets may be affected by this when used on the 400, but if you can, get the 400 w/as much of the front engine accessory bracketry as possible- unless you find that the 301's brackets fit.

The trans will bolt up w/o issue, as will the driveshaft. I'd recommend you run headers and plan on installing them when you swap engines to make it easier.

The radiator might be on the small side, unless the car already has HD cooling.

Thanks for the info! Quite helpful!

If i did the swap I would also be interested in using a Trans Am shaker hood scoop.. It sounds like the swap shouldnt be that hard but will the TA hood and scoop bolt up without any modification?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2010, 09:50 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lancaster, CA
Posts: 229
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EliminatorXR7
Thanks for the info! Quite helpful!

If i did the swap I would also be interested in using a Trans Am shaker hood scoop.. It sounds like the swap shouldnt be that hard but will the TA hood and scoop bolt up without any modification?
If you get the correct hood and the whole air cleaner assembly.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help on a Pontiac 400 dirt track motor ridlenracing Engine 9 06-16-2007 10:26 PM
Pontiac 400 88bluebird Engine 8 12-04-2005 01:17 PM
Will a pontiac 400 fit CamMan Engine 10 11-21-2003 05:46 PM
will a 1969 455ci olds engine bolt right in place of a pontiac 400??? chevyelc81 Engine 3 06-12-2002 03:54 AM
pontiac V6 to chevy V8 swap snake Engine 2 01-20-2002 03:58 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.