pontiac 350 eng. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-23-2013, 07:45 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

pontiac 350 eng.

what if any heads would increase the hp in my 76 p/350 without valve clearance problems ? Any suggestions will help ! #'s like 48,47, I've seen for sale halfway resonable !

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-23-2013, 07:55 PM
Senior Curmudgeon

Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 326

Calling all Pontiac experts..........
Old 04-23-2013, 11:44 PM
Grumpy Old Goat Herder

Last photo:

I'm no expert, but I'll try to help. If this is a street engine, 47 heads would give you about 9.2:1 compression, 48s would give you about 10.5:1 which would be too much for pump gas. These numbers are assuming that you have a standard bore and a zero deck with flat top pistons.

Bill
Old 04-24-2013, 08:27 AM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by f/bird View Post
what if any heads would increase the hp in my 76 p/350 without valve clearance problems ? Any suggestions will help ! #'s like 48,47, I've seen for sale halfway resonable !
Well... your heads are probably 6X 4 s which are supposed to be 92 CCs. that would put your static compression at 7.55 to one. A tad anemic.
#47 are advertised at 73 CC. That would boost you to 8.91 to 1. Much better.
# 48 heads are advertised at 1 CC smaller at 72 CCs which would put you at 9.0 to 1 .
Remeber heads need to be CCed to be sure of chamber size and advertised sizes are rarely accurate.
Since the heads are off the engine it makes them easy to check the chamber size.
What is your goal? street machine? All out dragster? ??