Pontiac 350 Motor/Intake Manifold setup question - Page 2 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 06-22-2013, 01:51 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 182
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Well, we will have to see how it all works out. The engine is built and installed. I only have the top and interior left to do. I have done everything on the car except the motor. I was recommended this cam by Summit Racing. I live North of Atlanta and that is what they recommended. I bought everything at one time and figured it would work because they deal in this everyday and I don't.

Any idea on what it costs to change out a cam if everything else is newly built?

I really hate taking steps backwards in a build. So I may just have to see how it all works out.

SAM

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 06-22-2013, 04:25 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,436
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 230
Thanked 296 Times in 275 Posts
Better put a 2500 or 3000 stall in that bad boy if youre gonna run that cam.
You wont like it trust us. We arent a saleperson trying to sell you something. All of the guys here have built engines (especially P Body ) and we know what works.
You want to take a step backwards..put that cam in . Big step backwards next.
Do what you want. Easy to change the cam now...later...not so much
__________________
Fact is stranger than Fiction
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 06-22-2013, 04:29 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 182
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I guess it is too late now. The motor is in the car. Everything engine and transmission related is complete and working good. I just don't have a windshield or top and interior. So to change the cam now has got to be expensive. That is why I was curious on what it would cost.

SAM
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 06-22-2013, 04:54 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,436
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 230
Thanked 296 Times in 275 Posts
Ok. Well get it running and greak in the cam. See what you have at this point.
If youre dissapointed in the low end /take off performance , that big cam will be to blame.
Like I said you could put a higher RPM stall converter in it. Which would be a quick round trip , pull the trans, swap converter and reinstall.
See what you get. Let us know how she turns out.
__________________
Fact is stranger than Fiction
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 06-22-2013, 08:38 PM
techinspector1's Avatar
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hemet, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 13,334
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 844
Thanked 1,163 Times in 959 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LATECH View Post
Better put a 2500 or 3000 stall in that bad boy if youre gonna run that cam.
You wont like it trust us. We arent a saleperson trying to sell you something. All of the guys here have built engines (especially P Body ) and we know what works.
You want to take a step backwards..put that cam in . Big step backwards next.
Do what you want. Easy to change the cam now...later...not so much
Just curious, I have not seen anywhere in this thread where the static compression ratio of the motor has been addressed. That's why I'm curious that you can tell the OP that it's too much cam. Not saying you're wrong, just curious.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 06-23-2013, 07:42 AM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,436
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 230
Thanked 296 Times in 275 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by techinspector1 View Post
Just curious, I have not seen anywhere in this thread where the static compression ratio of the motor has been addressed. That's why I'm curious that you can tell the OP that it's too much cam. Not saying you're wrong, just curious.
You know I realized that last night after reading back through this thread.
I checked on a pontiac head chart somewhere and went with a stock 69 head chamber size when I originally made my statements. My Bad I should have asked him.
Maybe the OP will post his chamber volume and I can have a second chance here.
If his chamber size is about 72 CCs , the cam he has would be pretty good.
Maybe he will post the casting number.
#47 heads show to be 72 CCs
#48 heads were 64 CCs with press in studs (350) and were 72 CCs with screw in studs (400 ci)
Both head volumes would be Fine with his cam, of course the 64 CC heads would be real good. 93 octane would be needed as well.
__________________
Fact is stranger than Fiction

Last edited by LATECH; 06-23-2013 at 07:54 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
intake manifold question Msgt Engine 2 03-21-2012 09:09 PM
chevy 350 intake manifold question sparkyct55 Engine 5 02-14-2008 06:07 PM
Intake manifold ID for 350 chev??? help!!! chevtruck Engine 4 08-31-2004 11:38 PM
Pontiac 400 Intake Manifold buckethead Engine 9 11-26-2002 12:42 PM
GMPP CRATE MOTOR Intake Manifold Vacuum alligator Engine 6 09-18-2002 08:02 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.