Pontiac 400 HP help - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2010, 10:34 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Pontiac 400 HP help

First of all I'd like to say WOW! Great board!! Can't believe I didn't come across this before!

A little about me...

I know some basic stuff, but I'm no mechanic. I can do an oil change, change water pump, radiator, hoses, cylinder heads, intake manifold, etc.....but I'm not the man that should be messing with this kind of thing.

I've got a 1978 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am that is nearly restored. I basically want to turn this into a street legal machine! Here's what I have so far. Guys, I am open to any and all advice. If there is anything I'm missing here, let me know!! Goal is 350-400HP.

Specifics of the engine:

-Pontiac 400 short block (bought this just last week, rebuilt and looks great!)
-Edelbrock Cylinder Heads
-Edelbrock Intake Manifold idle-5500 RPM
-Edelbrock carburetor #1406 600 CFM
-Edelbrock waterpump, don't want this bastard overheating.
-Hooker competition headers, ceramic, ran me about $700
-Flowmaster muffler with dual exhaust....

With all of this on, what am I looking at so far? Stock HP is 220.

I'm looking into buying a Lunati camshaft, P#60901LK. Good or bad move in your opinion?

Opinions, suggestions? Thanks in advance, look forward to hearing from all of you!

Edit: Been reading up on some things, and I'm thinking I should have gone with a 650 or 750 cfm carb.....Would a 600 do me any good at all with my goal of 350-400 HP?

Advertisement

Last edited by FirebirdFreak1978; 05-16-2010 at 10:44 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-16-2010, 11:03 PM
Senior Curmudgeon

Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo: