pontiac timing - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2004, 02:56 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: jax, fl
Age: 29
Posts: 222
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
pontiac timing

my 76 400 is giving me some trouble? i followed the book and it said that the motor should be about 16 debgrees btdc. but if we put it there it wont idle unless it is at like 13-1400 rpm's. then if we try to play it by ear, we cant get it to run nice and smooth! what should i do? any and all help wanted thanks

daniel

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2004, 06:22 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: jax, fl
Age: 29
Posts: 222
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
achewwwww
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2004, 09:05 PM
6567GTO's Avatar
Tire Fryer
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Shelton, CT
Age: 53
Posts: 311
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What exactly was done to the motor before this timing adjustment? What do you have for a distributor? Need more info...
What has been modified? if anything...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2004, 09:25 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: denver colorado
Age: 42
Posts: 48
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
whats your altitude?

Thad
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2004, 06:36 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: jax, fl
Age: 29
Posts: 222
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
when i got the car and motor, there was no distributor, so i ganked the one off of my other 400, reuiblt it and it put it in thisone. it is hei! i mean the car cranks up fine, but when we try to put it in gear, it just conks out on us. so we decided to time it yesterday. we hook up the timing light but i dont really know where to time it at. like what degree, i always thought between 5 and 12 was the proper place, but everytime we get in that range the car dies. and we have to have the idle up like around 13-1500 rpm so that the car wont die.

another thing i am worried about is my carb, i dont know if it is any good or not? because yesterday when u drove the car up to the front yard, my foot was going crazy on the pedal but the car was just putting up there, the whole time sounded like it wanted to die? what does that mean and it always dies when i put it in gear
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2004, 06:56 AM
6567GTO's Avatar
Tire Fryer
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Shelton, CT
Age: 53
Posts: 311
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well, I would check the placement of the distributor one more time to make sure you're not 1 tooth off cuz it sounds like you're close. Was the car sitting for a long time? Maybe you have dried out gaskets at the carb and or intake. Get the car to idle as low as it can and then spray some carb cleaner around the intake and carb and see if the idle changes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2004, 07:01 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: jax, fl
Age: 29
Posts: 222
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
if i were to be one tooth off, how should i go about adjusting it? and yes the car has been sitting a long time. about two years i think? i am pretty sure that i am going to replace the carb, i wanted to anyways when i first got the car, but now i think i might as well. yesterday we tried spraying the carb down with the cleaner and it just kept wanting to die, the idle never changed. i already replace the gasket going to the intake so i'm pretty sure it aint that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2004, 07:12 AM
6567GTO's Avatar
Tire Fryer
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Shelton, CT
Age: 53
Posts: 311
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
1st, get the motor to top dead center and make sure the rotor is pointing at #1 on the cap. If you are a tooth off, remove the distributor, then turn the oil pump shaft with a long flat bladed screwdriver till you get it in the right position.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2004, 07:16 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: jax, fl
Age: 29
Posts: 222
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
how will i beable to tell that it is in the right position? like is there a "special" grove or something? thanks for responding so quickly, this is todays task on the car and i would really like to get it running right. thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2004, 09:21 AM
6567GTO's Avatar
Tire Fryer
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Shelton, CT
Age: 53
Posts: 311
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No, no special groove. Just the slot in the oil pump shaft that meshes with the bottom of your distributor. After you remove the distributor take a light and shine it into the hole. You'll see it. Just turn it a little in the direction that the rotor has to go to make it line up with number 1 plug wire on the distributor cap. Mark your distributor where #1 wire is to make this easier. You'll have to take it in and out a couple times before you get it right. Like I said before - only do this if you're not lined up when you bring it to TDC on the compression stroke. Chances are it's your carb. Either dirt or a dried out gasket.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2004, 08:59 AM
6567GTO's Avatar
Tire Fryer
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Shelton, CT
Age: 53
Posts: 311
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How did you make out with this issue? just curious...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2004, 09:11 AM
BanditT/A's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester, NH
Posts: 270
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Just curious, did you disconnect the vaccum advance when you tryed timing it? If you didn't your timing will be off.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.