POR15 or Epoxy primer??? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2004, 12:37 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

POR15 or Epoxy primer???

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie here and have a question. I've been working on restoring the front end of my 85 Tojan Trans Am. I took apart the entire car forward of the firewall. I've been working on sandblasting everything and I'm about done. The paint was crappy and I had several spots with light to medium rust. The sand blasting has taken forever do to school and other problem. I've got a little bit of surface rust again in a couple of spots although I can hit those spots again.
My question is should I use por15 (this is what I had planned to do) or should I get some epoxy primer. I plan to paint the engine bay with dupont chromabase jet black and chromapremeire clear. I know if i use the por15 I need to use the tie coat primer. I already have the por15 and the tie coat but i'm double checking before I start. Thanks for the help, josh

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-04-2004, 12:50 PM

Last photo:

I am a strong advocate of POR-15. If you plan to paint the engine bay for show ,the POR-15 with the Tie coat primer lays down much flatter then epoxy primer. This could mean less sanding and work for you in the long run. As for rust protection it is far superior.Just be sure to use the Marine clean and Metal ready and follow the instructiona to the letter.
Old 11-04-2004, 11:19 PM
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser

Last photo:

Thanked 1,169 Times in 1,031 Posts