Hot Rod Forum banner

power brake booster

4K views 12 replies 8 participants last post by  farna 
#1 ·
Hi; I'm a new guy who needs a miracle; or just some good help.I have a 1941 chevy sedan with a mustang front suspension, chevy 11" front discs,1977 camaro rear with drum brakes,1977 camaro master cylinder and proportioning valve ,and an original 1979 pinto power booster.The drivetrain is 350/350 chevy.I have been driving the car for 5 years with no problem. The boosters diaphram ruptured,so I bought a street rod 7" booster to replace it.Easy,right?now it takes two feet to stop from speed.Motor has 19"of vacuum, the pedal is adjusted right,check valve is working,none of the high pressure side was touched.The supplier is lost for suggestions;how about you guys?really need help so i can drive it.

#2 ·
I'm trying to figure out if your brakes are locking or you have poor brakes since you say it only take you 2 feet to stop from speed? If your saying you have poor braking then I'll go from there. I see you mainly replaced the booster and went down in size. I take it you adjusted the rod inside the booster to the back of the master cylinder so it was just slightly away from the piston when the master cylinder was bolted up to the booster. I'll wait for a reply before I go further because I don't want to be making the wrong assumptions.

#3 ·