Power Brakes, im confused - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-05-2003, 08:01 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Elkton
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Power Brakes, im confused

Well i just rebuilt my suspention and added power disc brakes from the old manual drums. I got it all in and aligned. When i bleed the lines and took it for a test drive, it felt really bad, i almost drifted into an interestion. My question is do i have to bleed the brake with the motor running for vacumn reasons. Or is there a certain way i need to bleed the brakes, or does anyone know of anything that could be bad. Please help, thanx

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-05-2003, 08:15 PM
fat50's Avatar
Kenneth Howard hates me...
 

Last journal entry: Engine mock up
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Garden City, Mi
Age: 46
Posts: 129
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Do you have a single reservoir master cylinder? I'd upgrade to a dual reservoir. For bleeding them i have a drinkin' buddy pump the brakes 5 times and hold the pedal while i crack the bleeder open (they gotta earn that beer somehow!!) repete it a couple of time for each caliper.




C
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-05-2003, 09:45 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Elkton
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
its a dual, but i though i got all the air out, im just wonderin if the vacum has somethin to do with it, or is there a certain way im suppossed to bleed the brakes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2003, 09:34 AM
gt2betubbed's Avatar
Kid With A Wrench...
 

Last journal entry: The Blower and test fit.
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cali Baby!
Age: 35
Posts: 1,106
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Did you bench bleed the master?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2003, 10:05 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Elkton
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
what does bench bleed mean? because i dont think i did it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2003, 11:44 AM
gt2betubbed's Avatar
Kid With A Wrench...
 

Last journal entry: The Blower and test fit.
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cali Baby!
Age: 35
Posts: 1,106
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You have to bleed the master cylinder. You fill up the bowls, and there's a tube that you can buy at Kragen's for a couple bucks that sends the brake fluid out the master and back in the bowl when you pump it. You keep pumping it until there's no more bubbles going through the clear tubes. I don't know if this is the cause of your problem, but are your brakes acting like they have air in the system? If so, that could be it. Also, to answer your question, you don't need the car running to bleed the brakes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2003, 11:47 AM
Tazz
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: amherst,ohio
Age: 66
Posts: 2,049
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If you pump bleed the brakes don't worry about bench bleeding the mastercylinder, you bench bleed the mastercylinder to remove all the air from it before you install it. The instructions should have been in the box the new mastercylinder came in alone with two plastic hose's and fittings.

Is the pedal hard, so hard the pedal dosn't move even with the car running means insufficient vacume or bad vacume assist unit?

Can you pump up the brakes, two or more pumps and the pedal comes up and you have better brakes, this means air in the lines?

Did you bleed off all the old brake fluid and start with new all around, you might have two different fluids in your system, use dot3 unless otherwise asked to do so?

Did you put on new brake shoes when you did the mastercylinder vacume assist change, new shoes makes a lot of difference on drum brakes?


With a vacume assist brake you must have the car running to pump the pedal to bleed the brakes. Use the suction pump offered at the parts store to pull fluid from the reservoir to each wheel cylinder in turn as you bleed the brakes.



Todd

Last edited by tm454; 08-06-2003 at 11:54 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-07-2003, 07:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: calgary canada
Posts: 727
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Dot 3 and dot 4 are compatable so don't worry about that. Also don't worry about not bench bleading the master cylinder all it does is speed up the bleeding process but its no nessicary. It could be a situation where you have insufficent boost which would be my guess here. How low does the petal go? if it is at normal high when you stomp on it then it probably is the insufficent boast situation. Did you use a donar car? Oh one other thing no the car does not have to be running to bleed the brakes with vac assist
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-07-2003, 09:35 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Elkton
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
well i think we narrowed it down, we have bled the lines so much the liquid comming out is clean like just poured in the master cylinder. But we noticed the brake pedal pressure doesnt change if the vacumn line is hooked up, or not hooked up to the booster. So i thing the booster is bad. The funny thing is we bought it brand new. Damn *******s, lol. If anything else could be causeing this problem please let me know but for right now were gonna exchange the booster and see if another one will work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-07-2003, 09:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: calgary canada
Posts: 727
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
keep us posted on how it goes good luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-18-2003, 11:00 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
to bizkit075
did you fix your brakes???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Suspension - Brakes - Steering posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.