Hot Rod Forum banner

Power cable circuit breakers a good thing

2K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  ntfday 
#1 ·
I am working on my wiring on a 30's Ford street rod where the battery will be mounted behind passenger seat and power cable will be run through the right frame rail. An electrical wiring book I purchased shows two 200 amp circuit breakers wired in parallel and mounted at the battery before the power cable is run through the frame. Is this a practical setup? Will these take the starter cranking amps without tripping? I am going to run a small GM gear reduction starter. I had planned to feed several circuits, including the starter off a junction block mounted near the starter. I am new at wiring, so I can use all the help I can get here. Thanks in advance.

#2 ·
I've seen them wired in parallel like that to run winches in off road buggies. I'd assume the starter would be fine especially as it doesn't pull the load as long as a winch does. If possible I'd try to find a slow trip breaker. That way a spike of more than 400 amps over less than a second wouldn't trip just in case

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

#3 ·
Let me guess-could your Book possibly be one of these two?

I have my Car set up the same way (Battery in the Passenger compartment, but in a secondary Box), and it makes sense to me-I have had discussions with the Author (Tony Candela, who wrote those Books) who is a really great guy (and willing to help out us gearheads as he is one), and he states that this setup will handle up to 800 Amps (spike) at start up-

There is a lot of discussion on this subject, but he suggests that anytime you run a hot wire through a metal barrier (Firewall, Floor, etc. with a grommet of course) that it should be fused-I have done that in my Car, and i think it would be difficult to disagree with that line of thinking-