Power loss in 1980 camaro - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-05-2008, 10:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: alberta
Posts: 94
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Power loss in 1980 camaro

I connected the battery backwards by accident and it smoked by my alt. and by the firewall behind the pass valve cover.

Now I only get power to my headlights and interior lights.

I cant crank 'er, but I can jump the starter. I have 12v running into the firewall through the red accessory wire. All the fuses look fine. What else can I check?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2008, 02:30 PM
Holder350's Avatar
Auto Parts Professional
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Whitesburg, TN
Posts: 1,037
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
the fusible link.

but if its out, the headlights shouldn't work unless they have been wired around it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2008, 05:28 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: alberta
Posts: 94
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thats why im confused. I cant find the fusible link either.

there is 12v going into the firewall and the interior lights and such work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2008, 06:10 PM
Holder350's Avatar
Auto Parts Professional
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Whitesburg, TN
Posts: 1,037
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
fusible link will be close to the starter....connected with the batt cable.

see if it stretches like a rubber band. If soo then its burned out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2008, 06:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: alberta
Posts: 94
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So I'll have to take my starter off then? There is not alot of room to pull wires there.

I get 12v to the starter post, I can jump it with a screwdriver, and I get 12v to the firewall. This could still be fusible links?

Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2008, 07:07 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: alberta
Posts: 94
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I searched around, no fusible links in my entire car.

Im soooo confused and aggrivated.

Edit: some more goodness, the power acc. fuse terminals give no reading when connected to a multimeter while any other fuse terminals do give a reading.
anyone have any tips on how to remove the fuse box and brake booster so I can figure out where the short is?

Last edited by Nsomnia; 06-06-2008 at 07:25 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2008, 07:30 PM
carsavvycook's Avatar
My 2 cents worth
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lakeside, CA
Age: 58
Posts: 2,855
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
There should be 2 fusible links bolted with the battery positive cable at the starter. Outside of that I hope these help.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf PC003117.pdf (252.8 KB, 171 views)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2008, 07:41 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: alberta
Posts: 94
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by carsavvycook
There should be 2 fusible links bolted with the battery positive cable at the starter. Outside of that I hope these help.
I looked and felt all the way up the pos wire and starter wires about half a foot. Nothing. And no fusible links anywhere along the lines that I can see. The pos. bat cable was handmade, it runs from the starter under the fuel pump to the battery since the headers got in the way of the origonal cable I think.

Heres a picure I took a couple days ago if it has any clues, I'll take some clear ones tonight. Im completly out of ideas.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2008, 08:11 PM
Holder350's Avatar
Auto Parts Professional
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Whitesburg, TN
Posts: 1,037
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
ok....let me explain that a fusible link is not a fuse holder.

it looks like a regular wire but the inside burns out with a dead short.

NOW......you say you have power to the firewall.....where are you checking at?

do you have power to the fuse panel?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2008, 08:27 PM
carsavvycook's Avatar
My 2 cents worth
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lakeside, CA
Age: 58
Posts: 2,855
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nsomnia
I looked and felt all the way up the pos wire and starter wires about half a foot. Nothing. And no fusible links anywhere along the lines that I can see. The pos. bat cable was handmade, it runs from the starter under the fuel pump to the battery since the headers got in the way of the origonal cable I think.

Heres a picure I took a couple days ago if it has any clues, I'll take some clear ones tonight. Im completly out of ideas.

Even in this poor photo you can clearly see the 2 RED wires which are your fusible links. Look at the wiring schematics I posted to confirm the mounting position and wire color of these links.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2008, 08:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: alberta
Posts: 94
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Im testing for 12v at the firewall by poking the red wire in wire loom that goes into the firewall, and it gets 12v.

The two fusible links (sorry I thought fusible links were thick plastic things) also get 12v to them, and if I poke two points on them, they pass current (using a resistance meter on my multimeter).

Ill try running a wire from the starter and splice it somewhere just before the firewall -> fuse box and see if that solves it.

It worries me that the "power accessory" fuse does not flow any current right now, however if the fusible links are burnt out, that would explain it.

I REALLY hope I dont have to take out the fuse box to rewire a fusible link in from the starter.

Last edited by Nsomnia; 06-06-2008 at 08:48 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2008, 10:34 PM
Holder350's Avatar
Auto Parts Professional
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Whitesburg, TN
Posts: 1,037
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
you NEED to pull that wire bundle apart and see where your main power wire (from starter) runs, and make sure that its getting power.

you /might/ have some wires melted together.

I have a 79 and I when I rewired it I only remember 1 fusible link....

but for the life of me I cant remember how the alt wired into the rest of the system.....I think it merged into the power wire....After the fusible link.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2008, 12:04 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: alberta
Posts: 94
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
FINALLY got it.

Gave in, and ripped out the fuse box. Indeed the fusible link was fried.

So I'll run a new wire from the post, through the loom, through the firewall, into the fuse box. Bolt it all back together and go back to smoking tires.

Thanks for your help guys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2008, 12:12 AM
carsavvycook's Avatar
My 2 cents worth
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lakeside, CA
Age: 58
Posts: 2,855
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nsomnia
FINALLY got it.

Gave in, and ripped out the fuse box. Indeed the fusible link was fried.

So I'll run a new wire from the post, through the loom, through the firewall, into the fuse box. Bolt it all back together and go back to smoking tires.

Thanks for your help guys
Do us a favor and put a fuse in line, so you will be able continue to communicate with us.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2008, 12:17 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: alberta
Posts: 94
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ill just splice the new wire into where the cooked wire leads into the fuse box on a female spade that a fuse would plug into. Im not sure where the actual wire fried. I might even try splicing it before the firewall first and hope I get lucky.

I wish I could install a simple wiring harness, routed exactly as I want, so that I wouldnt have to deal with these issues. Too much effort though, ripping apart interior, lights and engine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1980 Camaro Question 80sCamaroChik Transmission - Rearend 3 10-24-2005 05:53 PM
power loss from higher ratio rocker? KNanthrup Engine 5 08-26-2005 09:20 AM
1980 camaro restoration william27103 Hotrodders' Lounge 2 09-07-2004 10:05 AM
1980 Camaro Tranny question.... Juicer Transmission - Rearend 1 08-05-2004 08:27 PM
Hotrodders Knowledge Cluster: Power Steering Conversions Jon Suspension - Brakes - Steering 0 09-04-2003 12:20 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.