Powerglide converter not slipping - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2011, 11:15 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Edmonton, canada
Posts: 55
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Powerglide converter not slipping

I have a 64 powerglide in my truck behind a 283. It has a hughes 2200-2500 stall converter. When i put it into gear it bogs the engine down to 400 rpm. When you try and break stall it it dosent rev past 600 rpm. The transmission has probably never been rebuilt in 15 years could it need a fresh build? I replaced the modulator valve with a new one but no change

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2011, 12:48 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,101
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 340
Thanked 102 Times in 98 Posts
Is the engine stock or built up for performance?

When you drive the truck down the road, the engine runs good , plenty of power then?
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2011, 12:52 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Edmonton, canada
Posts: 55
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It's pretty mild, comp 268 h cam, 600 edelbrock on top. It drives very well once its moving
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2011, 12:26 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
A 268H isn't exactly mild in a 283.
Duration @.050" 218/218, Lift .454/.454, Operating range= 1500-5500rpm in a 350ci Engine. In a 283ci it's probably more like 2000-6000rpm or higher.
You may need a higher stall. The stall in the TC will act smaller in a 283ci as most TC stall ratings are for 350ci to 454ci.
Example= 2200rpm = 350ci to 2500rpm = 454ci.

What do you have the Timing set at? Initial, Mechanical & Vacuum Advance?

Carb is also a little large for a 283.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2011, 06:45 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Edmonton, canada
Posts: 55
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Right now the timing is at 16deg base 37 total with vac advance hooked to manifold. When in gear the converter won't allow the engine to rev past 450 rpm with out moving the truck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2011, 02:44 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Sounds like the TC is just too tight for the 283.
May need to look at a 10" TC w/3000rpm stall to allow the 283 to stall around 2500rpm.

What rear Gear ratio does the Truck have?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2011, 06:55 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Edmonton, canada
Posts: 55
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Right now it has 3.90 s in the back. It drives well just sucks when in gear
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2011, 07:33 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: utah
Posts: 93
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Anyone thought of a broken sprag in the converter?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2011, 09:37 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Edmonton, canada
Posts: 55
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Would that be possible since its a brand new converter
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2011, 10:42 AM
Scandinavian's Avatar
http://www.backfalt.fi/indexse
 

Last journal entry: Torque Converter
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Finland
Age: 29
Posts: 243
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
do you got fully advance @ 3000rpm or 5000rpm? sound to me that something is wrong does the Vacum clock open or is it stuck ore is the membran the rubbery peace incide broken?

Last edited by Scandinavian; 07-19-2011 at 10:50 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2011, 10:47 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 292
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by luckynumberslevin
Would that be possible since its a brand new converter
Yep. Quality control no longer exists. My vote is for a defective converter.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2011, 10:48 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: utah
Posts: 93
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
New Converter, OK how loose was the old converter? You might want to contact the converter manufacter. They can provide you the information you need, you might want to ask if they can increase the stall speed based on your needs by re-working the internals. Might be cheaper than buying a new one - or they could possibly identify something wrong on the inside. A broken sprag causes direct drive, if you hit the brakes you would kill the motor, which that is not the case here.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2011, 10:52 AM
Scandinavian's Avatar
http://www.backfalt.fi/indexse
 

Last journal entry: Torque Converter
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Finland
Age: 29
Posts: 243
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by c65shoebox
New Converter, OK how loose was the old converter? You might want to contact the converter manufacter. They can provide you the information you need, you might want to ask if they can increase the stall speed based on your needs by re-working the internals. Might be cheaper than buying a new one - or they could possibly identify something wrong on the inside. A broken sprag causes direct drive, if you hit the brakes you would kill the motor, which that is not the case here.
Perfect Answer!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2011, 10:14 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Edmonton, canada
Posts: 55
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well i found the solution. i think haha I phoned hughes and asked them what the problem was. They told me that well i should have used a 3000 rpm 10" converter and that what i was using was simply to tight for my "mild" cam hah. i guess a lesson learned.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 07-25-2011, 11:19 PM
F-BIRD'88's Avatar
Yada Yada Yada
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,153
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 380 Times in 374 Posts
The advertized stall speed of a typical hi stall converter is rated when used behind a 350CID engine.

A 283 CID engine will see at least 500rpm less real stall speed when that converter is installed.

The little motor does not get real busy until 3000 rpm, with the 268H cam in it..

A 10" "3000 stall" will not be enough. How many torque converters do you want to buy for this?

Get a 9" or a 10" converter that is rated at "3500 to 4000 stall".

When you bolt it on behind a little 283 you will see about 3000 stall at the most. The 283 is short on engine torque.

This is the converter you need. Anything less will be too tight at idle and won;t have the correct stall behind the little CID motor with that 268H cam.



Recurve the distributor to allow 20-24deg at idle and 34-36 deg at max advance.
The idle timing must not drop off,,, when idling in gear.

Shorten the advance curve stop limit, to get this.
When you make both these changes it will drive and idle like its supposed to.

The cammed up little CID motors needs this much idle timing and the loose converter.

You ill be much better off with a th-350 transmission too.
Before you even consider rebuilding the powerglide, get a th-350 and a
9" or 10" 3500+ stall converter.

Call ATI. www.atiracing.com

Last edited by F-BIRD'88; 07-25-2011 at 11:33 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerglide stall converter question? DEMONSPEED Transmission - Rearend 7 12-03-2009 09:32 PM
Tranny or torque converter? (th350 slipping) Mr. Y Transmission - Rearend 7 05-30-2009 01:17 AM
Converter slipping too much? 84Z Transmission - Rearend 2 05-01-2007 05:21 PM
Is this converter slipping too much? wickster Transmission - Rearend 2 07-18-2005 07:32 AM
700R4 with slipping converter clutch CleviteKid Transmission - Rearend 1 08-28-2004 05:56 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.