Powermaster Alternator Wiring - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2008, 10:57 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Powermaster Alternator Wiring

Ok, fairly new to alternator wiring, but I think I have the general idea. I jsut want to check with someone who may know before I actually do it. I have a Powermaster 140-amp alternator that is a three wire. My alternator is a 3-wire, but I am unsure of how to exactly wire it to my application. I purchased a Painless harness to go along with it (harness as in the one that plugs into the pins in the back of the alternator) and it has two wires coming out of it, and which two terminals they come out of exactly is a bit fuzzy at the moment. The terminals are labeled respectively on both harness/alternator P L F S.

I know I have to send the charge wire from the alternator to the back of the starter lug, but am kind of fuzzy on where I connect the other wires to. There's a red wire, and then there's a white wire, which (in the directions) needs a resistor in between it and wherever it connects to. Is this the voltage sensing wire?? Does this hookup to the ignition switch that I have inside on a switch box?

Here is a link to the harness I am using:
http://store.summitracing.com/partde...part=PRF-30707
http://static.summitracing.com/globa.../prf-30707.pdf

Thanks!!

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-31-2008, 11:42 AM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 26