PPG Clearcoat - DBC Pearl and fisheyes - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2010, 02:04 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

PPG Clearcoat - DBC Pearl and fisheyes

I'm not REAL sure what to do, but I am prepared for the worst!! I am a hobbyist and trying to learn. I have done about 3 all-over paint jobs on my own cars. This is my first "trick" paintjob, so I have minimum skills
I did a search but couldnt really find a similar situation.
I am looking for some guidance and maybe hear from someone who has had a similar problem, or has a good idea how to remedy. I use PPG products

I am painting a fiberglass body.
K36 primer,
DP48 as a sealer.
2 coats of white base (Deltron DMD1684),
3 coats of Honda white pearl (tricoat) to the entire exterior,
Next day I added some decals in strategic areas and sprayed around them with PRLX4 (blue) and another area with PRLX6 (red).
((Mixed the PRLX4 & 6 in DBC500 to a "weight" of about 4%.))
Applied 3 coats of PRLX 4 over the decals, and PRLX6 in certain areas to match body contour. Removed the decals.
I took it to my buddies bodyshop to shoot the clear (2021)
Before I shot it, I cleaned it with DX330 using Scott towels from a box .....probably a mistake in hindsight. I wiped it on and didnt follow with a 2nd rag.
If you are already grimacing, you know where this went.
I waited about 15 minutes (it was 90 degrees in the shop).
Applied the first coat of clear and then followed with a 2nd after 10-15 minutes. It may have even been longer as I was mixing the paint.
After I shot it I noticed "fisheyes" in several areas. Primarily on the hood (where I started the DX330) and then on the passengers side quarterpanel.
So I only had 2 coats of clear on it.