PPG Omni acrylic enamel Black Metalic w/ pearl - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2009, 01:13 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

PPG Omni acrylic enamel Black Metalic w/ pearl

Hi all...

This project will start here

I just purchased a single stage enamel and have a few questions. My experience is ancient. 20 years ago, in high school, I worked as a body shop " helper". Painted some cars in the booth (respirator?? yea right) using a siphon gun, all were average at best. Now I am in the process of painting a motorcycle with the aforementioned Paint.. Not only was it inexpensive, it was exactly what I was looking for. I have several practice panels to paint on before I shoot the good ones.

The panels will not be stripped, as they are currently black. Just a scuff and clean.

The paint booth I am building is 8X12 8 feet tall, out of plastic, 2x4's furnace filters, and house fans, in a fairly dust free and clean garage. I plan on painting in about 2 weeks, and have started misting the garage with water on a daily basis (I'm serious about the dust free environment!)

I have never used an HVLP gun, and don't want to get into a brand war. from what I understand the tcpglobal brand gun is fine for me.

The temperature in the paint area will be 85 degrees F

My local Body shop will paint these for me, for less then the cost of tooling up. I WANT to do it

Here come the money questions!
__________________________________________________ __________________

Will I need a hardener to spray the paint?

What tip size will I need to spray this paint? The largest panels are about 3X3'

Can this color be colorsanded?

What reducer should I use?

Any advice on gun set up?