Pre-used flywheel bolts ok? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-17-2010, 12:58 AM
staleg's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Hand brake
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norway - Europe
Age: 47
Posts: 782
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Pre-used flywheel bolts ok?

When I mounted the used T56 transmission I just used the enclosed flywheel- and pressure plate bolts.
Torqued according to the LT1 instruction manual and used Loctite thread lock.

After that I've been thinking. Should I have used new bolts? A loose flywheel is scary, but on the other hand, if everything is ok, changing the bolts now is a lot of extra work since the transmission is mounted in place.

The motor is a 350 cid L05 rebuilt with carb.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-17-2010, 02:08 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
I wouldn't worry, they're reused all the time & the Loctite should keep them in place. If it was a Hi HP/TQ engine it's a good idea to upgrade.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-17-2010, 07:31 AM
done learning, done living
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Middle of the Mitten
Age: 29
Posts: 1,665
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 151
Thanked 88 Times in 79 Posts
if its together i wouldn't worry about it, it's like a 5 dollar piece of mind is all it is. I would almost worry about the threads in the block failing or the block cracking around the threads before a bolt failure. Even if you replace the bolts the dowel pin for keying the flywheel is probably taking most of the shear load before the bolts join in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-17-2010, 09:42 AM
sqzbox's Avatar
My pipes are my music
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: indiana
Age: 64
Posts: 2,938
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by staleg
When I mounted the used T56 transmission I just used the enclosed flywheel- and pressure plate bolts.
Torqued according to the LT1 instruction manual and used Loctite thread lock..
One would think that if you needed new F/W bolt's, they would have included them like they did with the clutch plate.

As far as thinking about it after the fact, I did the same thing after I got married the second time. It's been 30 yrs. today so I guess I did the right thing!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-17-2010, 11:14 AM
1ownerT's Avatar
Home School Valedictorian
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Iowa
Age: 53
Posts: 1,645
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by crussell85
if its together i wouldn't worry about it, it's like a 5 dollar piece of mind is all it is. I would almost worry about the threads in the block failing or the block cracking around the threads before a bolt failure. Even if you replace the bolts the dowel pin for keying the flywheel is probably taking most of the shear load before the bolts join in.
A dowel pin in the crank of a SBC?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-17-2010, 11:16 AM
1ownerT's Avatar
Home School Valedictorian
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Iowa
Age: 53
Posts: 1,645
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sqzbox
One would think that if you needed new F/W bolt's, they would have included them like they did with the clutch plate.

As far as thinking about it after the fact, I did the same thing after I got married the second time. It's been 30 yrs. today so I guess I did the right thing!
Congrats!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-17-2010, 11:47 AM
staleg's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Hand brake
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norway - Europe
Age: 47
Posts: 782
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1ownerT
A dowel pin in the crank of a SBC?
I remember it was a dovel pin there, yes.

Thanks for the answers, by the way!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-17-2010, 12:40 PM
King of my Man-cave.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Michigan
Age: 55
Posts: 2,899
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1ownerT
A dowel pin in the crank of a SBC?
All one-piece rear main and 400 SBCs have a dowel pin to locate the externally-balanced flywheel. I sometimes use a heavy metal dowel pin to add metal if a small amount is needed in that area when balancing internally balanced SBC cranks.

tom
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-17-2010, 10:57 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Burton, MI
Posts: 794
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 38
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by crussell85
if its together i wouldn't worry about it, it's like a 5 dollar piece of mind is all it is.
I agree! When I swapped transmissions, I had a cracked flexplate, so I decided since I dragrace a lot, to put an SFI approved flexplate in... and since I went that far.. i dropped an extra $8 for ARP's flexplate bolts
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-19-2010, 08:27 AM
3rdmember
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Berthoud,CO
Age: 59
Posts: 348
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by machine shop tom
All one-piece rear main and 400 SBCs have a dowel pin to locate the externally-balanced flywheel. I sometimes use a heavy metal dowel pin to add metal if a small amount is needed in that area when balancing internally balanced SBC cranks.

tom

some have the dowel, some don't and it AIN'T for locating a externally balanced chevy flywheel...
and i can walk out to the shop and look at a 400 w/o a pin
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-19-2010, 05:16 PM
done learning, done living
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Middle of the Mitten
Age: 29
Posts: 1,665
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 151
Thanked 88 Times in 79 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomslik
some have the dowel, some don't and it AIN'T for locating a externally balanced chevy flywheel...
and i can walk out to the shop and look at a 400 w/o a pin
Is the 400 a one piece rear main though? What would the dowel pin be used for besides indexing the flywheel?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-19-2010, 06:01 PM
3rdmember
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Berthoud,CO
Age: 59
Posts: 348
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by crussell85
Is the 400 a one piece rear main though? What would the dowel pin be used for besides indexing the flywheel?

there ARE no 400's with a 1 piece seal and about the only place i ever see the dowel is in 3/4ton and up stuff
i assume it's for somewhat of a drive pin
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2010, 04:28 PM
done learning, done living
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Middle of the Mitten
Age: 29
Posts: 1,665
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 151
Thanked 88 Times in 79 Posts
i guess i am not sure on the 400 rear mains, But the dowel pin on various crankshafts are there to properly locate the weights on the flywheel to balance the motor, is this that complicated to understand?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2010, 02:04 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Burton, MI
Posts: 794
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 38
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
wouldn't a "pre-used" bolt technically be a 'brand new' bolt?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rant about aftermarket sheetmetal cyclopsblown34 Body - Exterior 27 01-28-2010 10:14 AM
corvette front clip rhinz1966 Body - Exterior 12 01-11-2010 04:57 PM
any help ya'l luvchevs Body - Exterior 6 01-06-2010 09:35 PM
Removing bumper bolts Slipangle Body - Exterior 1 07-09-2007 07:56 PM
body parts fitting anyoldchevy Body - Exterior 10 02-20-2005 09:20 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.