Primer repair/sanding through - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2009, 12:32 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Primer repair/sanding through

Hi all, I am new to painting and learning on my first job. I am a perfectionist and cannot let that go. I've been spending countless hours on sanding the primer. My big problem is sanding through and I am starting to learn that better prep would have helped to prevent that also being more careful sanding. I am using high fill primer on fiberglass. I sand through and I've learned when that happens don't stop there... use the block to sand it nice and flat because most likely its a high spot. When my part was smaller I'd just reshoot the whole thing and sand again. Now that I have a larger body I am working on I shoot a small section again. I then resand the rest of it with 320 grit again just to get rid of overspray. What happens is the place I shot is fine, but then I end up sanding through on edges elsewhere usually because this is my second pass again without reshooting and its getting thin. At this point I'm going to repair a few sections - I think three small spots and then switch to 600 grit. I was going to spray some paint as a guide coat and sand that, but I am really worried of sanding through and going through another 320 600 cycle. A few questions I had...

1) Do you guide coat the 600 on primer? I could do a light pass over it but I'm sure I wouldn't get everything unless I guide coated it.

2) The guide coat color... I am painting it red as the final color. If there are any nicks I didn't fix shouldn't I use a red guide so that if anything is left it will show through less in the final paint?