Problem batch loading larger images - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders Site Suggestions and Help
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2005, 07:08 AM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,918
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Problem batch loading larger images

Is anyone else having a problem since the system upgrade when they batch load larger images? Batch loading can be done as either attachments to a post or in the Journal Section. It's where you fill in multiple addresses (up to 3) in the "browse" box and upload them as a group.

If I try to upload three images and each of them is around 400k in size or larger (this is approximately a 4x6 image at 80 resolution) I get an error message titled "Net Reset Error". If I reduce the image resolution to 75 but keep it 4x6 (about 350K in size) the three images upload just fine.

1) I can upload one large image (600K) to HR.C just fine.

2) I can upload multiple (up to 3) 350K images at a time to HR.C just fine.

3) I can upload multiple (up to 5) 600K images at a time to my personal web site just fine.

4) Prior to the upgrade, I could upload 3 600K images at a time without a problem.

But now, if I upload three 400k images at a time to HR.C, I get the error message.

I have alerted Jon to the problem and he is doing some research. I just wanted to know if anyone else has experienced the problem or is willing to run a test trying to upload three larger (like 500K) images either as an attachment to a post or as a journal entry. (BTW, if you do it as a journal entry you can then immediately delete the entry once you have the results of the test.)

Dewey

    Advertisement
__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.

Last edited by cboy; 03-22-2005 at 07:16 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2005, 01:05 PM
Jon's Avatar
Jon Jon is offline
Hotrodders.com Administrator
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners Last photo:
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Colorado
Age: 37
Posts: 3,206
Wiki Edits: 7314

Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
Do you get an error when batch uploading to the board, or just to the Journal? Or both?

Sounds like an internal upload file size limit.

(btw, cboy -- be sure to check out my reply to another image-related post in this forum: http://hotrodders.com/showthread.php?t=59953.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2005, 07:13 PM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,918
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon
Do you get an error when batch uploading to the board, or just to the Journal? Or both?

Sounds like an internal upload file size limit.

(btw, cboy -- be sure to check out my reply to another image-related post in this forum: http://hotrodders.com/showthread.php?t=59953.

I got the error message from both the journal and the post uploads (same message I copied to you.)

I can't figure out how it could be an internal upload file size limit on my end. Last night I experimented with a batch upload to the Journal Section with three images at 400K. I got the error message. I then immediately tried a batch upload of the exact same three images to my personal web site, and it worked perfectly. If there was an internal upload size limit on my end then I'd get the error message when I upload to my own web site as I get uploading to the HR.C web site. Also, why doesn't the file size limit effect the upload when I just send one image? I can upload a single 600K image just fine. But when I try three at a time it fails. This would have to be some sort of "total upload at one time" limit. But no such limit exists when I upload elsewhere.

Also, I posted a response one the other thread you referenced...I'm seeing the image now as well.

Added in later edit:

I just tried another experiment to see if I have some sort of internal file size limit. I tried uploading a singe image of 1,370 KB (over three times the total upload size when I get an error message - 3 files at 400Kb each produces the error) The 1.3 meg file uploaded to my journal just fine.
__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.

Last edited by cboy; 03-22-2005 at 07:26 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2005, 10:52 PM
Jon's Avatar
Jon Jon is offline
Hotrodders.com Administrator
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners Last photo:
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Colorado
Age: 37
Posts: 3,206
Wiki Edits: 7314

Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
I meant "internal" on the server end, not on your end -- I should've clarified that. If it was just you, then it might be logical to think it's on your end. But some other users are getting the same problem, which definitely points to a problem on this end.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2005, 06:16 AM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,918
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Whew, that actually makes me feel a little better (or maybe worse).

Here are a couple more clues for you Jon. Don't know if they will help.

******************************
When I get the error with Firefox, it generates this url:

chrome://global/content/netError.xhtml?e=netReset&u=http%3A//hotrodders.com/forums/journal.php%3Fjournalid%3D17166%26action%3Daddentr y&d=The%20document%20contains%20no%20data.

******************************
When I get the error with IE, it generates the following error message, Note esp. the last line regarding not finding the server or DNS.

The page cannot be displayed
The page you are looking for is currently unavailable. The Web site might be experiencing technical difficulties, or you may need to adjust your browser settings.

------------

Please try the following:

Click the Refresh button, or try again later.

If you typed the page address in the Address bar, make sure that it is spelled correctly.

To check your connection settings, click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options. On the Connections tab, click Settings. The settings should match those provided by your local area network (LAN) administrator or Internet service provider (ISP).
See if your Internet connection settings are being detected. You can set Microsoft Windows to examine your network and automatically discover network connection settings (if your network administrator has enabled this setting).
Click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options.
On the Connections tab, click LAN Settings.
Select Automatically detect settings, and then click OK.
Some sites require 128-bit connection security. Click the Help menu and then click About Internet Explorer to determine what strength security you have installed.
If you are trying to reach a secure site, make sure your Security settings can support it. Click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options. On the Advanced tab, scroll to the Security section and check settings for SSL 2.0, SSL 3.0, TLS 1.0, PCT 1.0.
Click the Back button to try another link.


Cannot find server or DNS Error

************************

BTW, it I follow the IE directions and click the refresh button, I get sent back to the opening, main Journal Page. This also happens if I click the "back" button.

************************

This morning I tried to do the upload using Netscape 7.1 and got the error message:

Alert: The document contains No Data.
__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2005, 10:34 AM
Jon's Avatar
Jon Jon is offline
Hotrodders.com Administrator
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners Last photo:
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Colorado
Age: 37
Posts: 3,206
Wiki Edits: 7314

Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
OK -- thanks for the detailed info, that's what I was hoping for.

I've done two things. First of all, I upped our internal filesize upload limit from 2 megabytes to 5 megabytes. Second of all, I upped the server "timeout" for uploading files. I remember you said you were on a slower connection. We were set to "timeout" after 60 seconds. Now, I've moved it up to 600 seconds.

Try again, let me know if you get the same error.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2005, 11:28 AM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,918
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Just tried again using Firefox and got the same error.

BTW, I don't think it's a "timing out" problem, at least not a typical one. The error message comes up within a couple seconds of hitting the upload button.

On the other hand, when I use IE as my browser, the error occurs differently. With IE it appears at my end that the upload is taking place. After hitting the upload button the Windows "flag" waves and the progress box shows progress (although, as I recall, I don't think it makes it all the way to the end) Then at the very end, when I'd normally be redirected back to my journal to see the new entry, the screen is just while. If I click the url in the address line I can then read the error message (which I sent you in my prior post).
__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.

Last edited by cboy; 03-23-2005 at 11:36 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2005, 01:28 PM
Jon's Avatar
Jon Jon is offline
Hotrodders.com Administrator
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners Last photo:
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Colorado
Age: 37
Posts: 3,206
Wiki Edits: 7314

Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
Good news -- I'm getting the SAME ERROR when I try to upload a large pic (in excess of 600K). In fact, I'm getting the same error when I try to upload a large pic to the gallery as well.

I've just called our datacenter, they're looking into this right now. Sounds like it could be a sitewide upload limit that came into place after our server move.

Thanks again for the extra-detailed error info. It makes troubleshooting so much easier.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2005, 01:45 PM
Jon's Avatar
Jon Jon is offline
Hotrodders.com Administrator
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners Last photo:
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Colorado
Age: 37
Posts: 3,206
Wiki Edits: 7314

Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
OK, I've just made an adjustment on this end, and now I can upload large files without getting that error message.

cboy, can you try again, and let me know what happens?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2005, 06:31 PM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,918
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
You're the MAN, Jon. Just rried an upload and it worked fine. Thanks for tracking that one down.

Dewey
__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2005, 08:26 PM
Jon's Avatar
Jon Jon is offline
Hotrodders.com Administrator
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners Last photo:
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Colorado
Age: 37
Posts: 3,206
Wiki Edits: 7314

Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
Excellent! Thanks for helping to troubleshoot it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine stalling problem JamesRS Engine 3 01-30-2006 11:22 AM
1994 Saturn Transmision Problem dmg53 Transmission - Rearend 4 01-18-2006 06:59 PM
problem up loading photos? roys63 Hotrodders Site Suggestions and Help 3 10-02-2003 05:03 PM
please help..... annoying warm start problem 67cuda Engine 21 03-28-2003 05:44 AM
Fuel / Carb problem DoubleVision Engine 5 10-28-2002 05:18 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.