Problem with car not wanting to stay running at idle without feathering the throttle - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2012, 07:55 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Problem with car not wanting to stay running at idle without feathering the throttle

sbc 327, 195 afr heads, 2.05 1.6 valves, 750 holley carb, msd 6al ignition and pro billet dist, cam is comp cams xe284 dur-int 284 exh-296, and 1.6 ratio rockers. this car is used for racing only, no street use
my problem is i cant seem to get the motor to idle without feathering the gas at about 1000-1200 or it will die, can rev motor and runs fine except for at idle. anyone have any suggestions i could try out? Thanks!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2012, 08:12 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: canada
Posts: 564
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
how low are you trying to get it to idle?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2012, 08:16 PM
68NovaSS's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Working with chromed bolts
Last journal entry: New to me T-Bucket
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nine Mile Falls, Washington
Posts: 5,232
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 104
Thanked 131 Times in 122 Posts
Are the throttle blades closing too far covering the idle slots? Dirt clogging the idle circuits? Vacuum leak? Is it loading up or lean?
__________________
Boost adds dignity to what would otherwise be a vulgar brawl...

Midnight Sun Street Rod Association
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2012, 08:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
im just trying to get it to idle period. the throttle blades looked fine when the carb went on but could use a second look anyways, and it doesn't seem to be loading up. could it have to do with my mixture screws?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2012, 02:40 AM
F-BIRD'88's Avatar
Yada Yada Yada
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,052
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 367 Times in 361 Posts
You need a lot more initial advance at idle .
Lock out the distributor mechanical advance curve
and set the locked timing to 36deg BTDC at idle.

Get a 4.5" rated power valve.

get a 8" 9" 4000++ stall converter.

This cam will not work with a stock converter
This cam will not work with a stock out of the box distributor curve.
Needs a minimum of 26deg timing at idle.

runs and idles great with locked out timing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2012, 08:36 AM
lg1969's Avatar
Google "Tunnel Ram 406"
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bohemia, L.I.N.Y.
Age: 64
Posts: 1,054
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
Adjust A/F mixture screws a back out a little.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2012, 09:00 AM
sqzbox's Avatar
My pipes are my music
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: indiana
Age: 64
Posts: 2,938
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lg1969
Adjust A/F mixture screws a back out a little.
A vacuum gauge will help a lot setting it at maximum vacuum.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2012, 06:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
the dist is set up for 36 at idle already, but since i dropped the new heads on i cant get it to idle to set my timing back at 18 on idle. car has a 3500 stall already.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2012, 07:13 PM
topwrench's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: fish carb
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: lillian al.
Age: 67
Posts: 290
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by F-BIRD'88
You need a lot more initial advance at idle .
Lock out the distributor mechanical advance curve
and set the locked timing to 36deg BTDC at idle.

Get a 4.5" rated power valve.

get a 8" 9" 4000++ stall converter.

This cam will not work with a stock converter
This cam will not work with a stock out of the box distributor curve.
Needs a minimum of 26deg timing at idle.

runs and idles great with locked out timing.
This is "ditto"for me!
why did u back the timing off to 18?
Check the secondary opening setting i think you also may be adjusting primary idling too much to get it to idle
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2012, 07:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
just the initial idle timing needs to be at 18, not total timing..sorry..what do you mean by checking the sec open setting
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2012, 06:32 AM
F-BIRD'88's Avatar
Yada Yada Yada
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,052
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 367 Times in 361 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tobeyw86
just the initial idle timing needs to be at 18, not total timing..sorry..what do you mean by checking the sec open setting
You'll be sorry until you get around to giving that motor the timing it wants at idle. It wants full timing at idle 36deg BTDC. and it wants 36deg at WOT.

lock out the distributor. Yes this is for street use and race only use.
the motor don;t care where you drive it. Its just wants the right timing it wants.

The XE284H-10 cam Will not work with a stock converter.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2012, 06:33 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: canada
Posts: 564
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
he already said he has a 3500 stall converter already. i dont consider that to be stock
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2012, 07:11 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I was talking with a friend on what he thought and he mentioned the idea of the valves being set to tight. Think this could be causing my idle issues?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2012, 04:48 AM
F-BIRD'88's Avatar
Yada Yada Yada
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,052
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 367 Times in 361 Posts
Its possible. Could be a vacuum leak or blown power valve too. What is the timing at idle now?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 03-14-2012, 03:11 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 26
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
backing the valves off a hair didnt change anything...im cant find a vacuum leak anywhere so im putting that to the side for right now...the carb doesnt have a power valve...the guy that builds them around here says that if you dont run a power valve that you generally run them about 10 sizes bigger on jets...i believe the primarys are jetted at 80 and sec at 78...id have to go out and look but im pretty sure thats what it is
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low buck 355 sbc not running correctly, wanting to much timing. ForceFed86 Engine 68 04-13-2011 12:35 PM
amc 304 won't stay running redneckhotrods Engine 12 03-07-2010 02:29 PM
will not stay running punched350stepside73 Engine 3 02-28-2010 07:50 AM
engine wont idle, or stay running lowandloud91 Engine 16 08-10-2009 12:27 PM
Car Won't Stay Running MyMalibu Engine 9 02-27-2008 08:16 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.