Proper uses for acid etch primer? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2004, 12:42 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Proper uses for acid etch primer?

I seem to be seeing alot of cases where people using acid etch primer over bare metal get bubbles in their paint after a while. I plan on trying the SPI epoxy primer everyone is so hot on for the remainder of my project, But on some areas of the car i've used acid etch primer. I'm new to these things so I'm not real keen on the Do's and Do not's. Basically all i'm looking for is a good paint job that lasts, just like all of you are i'm sure. Is acid etch a no no?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-08-2004, 01:21 PM

Last photo:

This is a very sensitive subject as many people here have used in the past and present "Acid etch" Primers.

Here is the problem, first the paint companies will not just pull this product because it is so cheap to make unlike epoxy or 2k primers.( Its a big money maker) The next problem is acid etch works very well under lacquers and enamels (20 years out of date) but the product never locks down so if you sprayed a fender with acid etch and let it set two years, you could walk up with Urethane reducer and wipe off.
So what does 2K primers, base, and clears have in them urethane reducers!
So what happens is the urethane reducers melt the the acid etch and you don't know it. So depending how much sun the car gets
the "pinhead" type bubbles can show up in a week or 10 years.