push button transmission - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2003, 02:06 PM
38 special's Avatar
Be the MIRACLE!
 

Last journal entry: Running boards (part DUEX)
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: midwest central Ohio
Posts: 366
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
push button transmission

I have a Camaro steering column in my 38 DeSoto and the tranny is from an 86 Olds Cutlass. There is no auto shift on the column. I don't really want an auto shifter on the floor, so I've been thinking of putting the shifter somewhere on the dash. I've seen push button shifters on old cars. How do they work? Can I accomplish something like this on my own? If this is too vague of a question to ask let me know. I'll try to be more specific. SORRY MODS! I posted this in the wrong forum. You can move it. I thought I was in the tranny and rear end forum.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2003, 02:56 PM
adtkart@aol.com
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 3,220
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I remember working on Chry products that had push button shifters. The trans was not interchangeable with the regular linkage shifter cars, as they had a cable for shifting. Although I have learned not to say that it isn't possible, I have to say that it would take alot of engineering.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2003, 02:58 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,899
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 20
Thanked 261 Times in 213 Posts
Probably easier to find a column with the shifter built in....
__________________
Ontario Rodders

Budget RVs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2003, 05:16 PM
Pony's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lynnwood, Wa.
Age: 68
Posts: 721
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Chrysler Corp cars in the mid to late 60's had the push button shifter but got away from it as it was too complicated and just not worth the extra cost. If I remember right you wouldn't be able to adapt it to your trans.

P.S. Now if you were to put a 392 hemi and torqueflite in the Desoto you could have the in dash shifter!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2003, 03:34 AM
38 special's Avatar
Be the MIRACLE!
 

Last journal entry: Running boards (part DUEX)
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: midwest central Ohio
Posts: 366
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks guys. I'll have to see what kind of shifter I can rig up..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2003, 04:00 AM
DesertPanel's Avatar
Rusty And Dusty
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Nevada
Age: 53
Posts: 42
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Years ago my parents had a '64 Dodge Dart with a pushbutton automatic. I don't know what kind of trans it was - they sold it when I was 10 or 11. I remember that it had R N D 1 2 buttons in a vertical line, then a narrow chrome knob to the side of them that you slid upward to put it into Park. When you put into Park, the button of whatever gear you had it in at the time popped out, and N popped in. When you took it out of Park, it stayed in Neutral, and you had to choose a gear from there.

I'm sure it could be done, just not sure where to begin. As far as cable vs linkage is concerned, I thought all aftermarket floor shifters were cable operated. I know the B&M shifter I put into my F-250 came with instructions for GM models and Chrysler models, and it's cable operated.

You might check some of the Dodge/Plymouth/Desoto/Chrysler forums and see if you can find a trans man who knows older pushbutton automatics. I think it would not only be very cool, but completely different from anything I've seen in years.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2003, 04:28 AM
Frisco's Avatar
Glad To Be Here
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canton, North Carolina
Age: 72
Posts: 2,244
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by DesertPanel
I thought all aftermarket floor shifters were cable operated.
Just some info. Lokar shifters are not cable operated. They have a threaded rod for the linkage.

As to using the pushbutton shifter; perhaps if you can locate one in a donor vehicle you can adapt it for your application. Edsel had one in the steering column where the horn button would normally be.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2003, 04:50 AM
DesertPanel's Avatar
Rusty And Dusty
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Nevada
Age: 53
Posts: 42
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the info, Frisco. I didn't check with Lokar when I put the shifter in my old beater F-250. A Lokar would be worth more than the truck.

I felt lucky getting away with just shelling out the bucks on the B&M. Some of the things we'll do to keep our old vehicles running...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2003, 06:07 PM
38 special's Avatar
Be the MIRACLE!
 

Last journal entry: Running boards (part DUEX)
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: midwest central Ohio
Posts: 366
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks DesertP. Now I've got another wild thought. I've never fooled with a floor shifter before So I'm relying on those who have. Just to be wildly different do you think I could mount it in a vertical position under the dash and get it to funtion properly. May sound weird but it would be very interesting to see something different. Just thinking outside the box!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2003, 06:54 PM
DesertPanel's Avatar
Rusty And Dusty
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern Nevada
Age: 53
Posts: 42
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I went back through the instructions for my B&M shifter and can't find a reason why you couldn't mount one vertically. As long as the cable isn't kinked, that is. It might be a bit tough to do that. I can't help but think it would be a bit awkward to use, though.

I do like the pushbutton idea, though.

Hmmmm.... wonder if I can find an old Dart or Polara in one of the local wrecking yards.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-08-2003, 07:05 PM
38 special's Avatar
Be the MIRACLE!
 

Last journal entry: Running boards (part DUEX)
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: midwest central Ohio
Posts: 366
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Poncho, I went to Cars ands Parts Swap meet today. took your advice and found a steering column with the Auto on the tree. Got'em down to 15 bucks so I thought it was worth it. Maybe I can sell the old one I have. Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-08-2003, 09:07 PM
WoodsEdge's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Hoot Owl Ridge in S. Mtns. N.C.
Posts: 406
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hey 38, before you give up on a cool idea, the auto Corvair had the shifter in the dash and it used a cable. Shouldn't be hard to find one and adapt it to your use.
Jack
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2003, 07:55 AM
38 special's Avatar
Be the MIRACLE!
 

Last journal entry: Running boards (part DUEX)
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: midwest central Ohio
Posts: 366
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Woods. now I have 2 choices.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2003, 10:08 AM
adtkart@aol.com
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 3,220
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I seem to remember some type of van that had a shifter on the dash. I can't remember what it was right now. I think it was one of those big "cube" type vans similar to the UPS or bread type with auto trans. Might check on some of them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2003, 10:12 AM
TooMany2count's Avatar
A Half Crippled Old SOB....
 
Last wiki edit: GM RPO build codes Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cahokia,IL..... Donate Blood Products & Sign your DONORS CARD
Posts: 807
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally posted by adtkart
I seem to remember some type of van that had a shifter on the dash.
the early dodge vans (60's up to 70)had the shifter in the dash & it was cable operated.........joe
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Suspension - Brakes - Steering posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.