Putting in new stall converter? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2010, 12:32 PM
Madmax305's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Brea, Ca.
Posts: 249
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Putting in new stall converter?

Hey guys, I have a th350 and I'm putting in a hughes 3000 stall converter. My question is, how many quarts of trans fluid should I buy for the converter and trans pan? I'm going to service and change the trans filter also.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2010, 01:46 PM
sqzbox's Avatar
My pipes are my music
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: indiana
Age: 64
Posts: 2,938
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
A bone dry th350 will hold 10 qts. with a stock size converter. The converter holds 4 qts alone. So I would buy 10 qts. might save you another trip to the parts store for more fluid.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2010, 02:23 PM
Madmax305's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Brea, Ca.
Posts: 249
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanks for the info...How much fluid should I put in the converter on the install? I know not to install it dry
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2010, 02:23 PM
bigdog7373's Avatar
Of course it's fast
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 2,673
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 49 Times in 49 Posts
Must have a big old cam to need 3k stall.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2010, 02:26 PM
Madmax305's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Brea, Ca.
Posts: 249
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdog7373
Must have a big old cam to need 3k stall.
HEHE, Well, it's not a super huge cam, but it has a nice lope. It is the Comp Magnum 270, flat tappet.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2010, 02:33 PM
sqzbox's Avatar
My pipes are my music
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: indiana
Age: 64
Posts: 2,938
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
If its the same diameter as a stock converter start with 3. It won't be as messy installing it full. 5 qts in the tranny to begin with. That leaves 2 or less to bring it up to full after it gets warm.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2010, 02:41 PM
Madmax305's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Brea, Ca.
Posts: 249
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanks for the info...Are there any tricks to installing a TC? I've researched the forums and it looks pretty strait forward.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2010, 03:04 PM
bigdog7373's Avatar
Of course it's fast
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2010
Location: florida
Posts: 2,673
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 49 Times in 49 Posts
For the love of God, YOU HAVE TO MAKE SURE IT'S ALL THE WAY ON!!!

Last edited by bigdog7373; 10-29-2010 at 03:20 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2010, 04:41 PM
327NUT's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So. Utah
Age: 68
Posts: 3,280
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 88 Times in 79 Posts
Madmax...you don't anywhere near a 3000 stall TC for a 270 mag cam, a stock 1600 - 1800 TC will work just fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2010, 04:48 PM
Madmax305's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Brea, Ca.
Posts: 249
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 327NUT
Madmax...you don't anywhere near a 3000 stall TC for a 270 mag cam, a stock 1600 - 1800 TC will work just fine.
OK, Well in searching all the forums and input from from the guy's here, they all have recommended a 2500-3000 stall.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2010, 05:30 PM
techinspector1's Avatar
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hemet, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 12,955
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 762
Thanked 1,013 Times in 849 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madmax305
Are there any tricks to installing a TC?
Place it on the transmission input shaft, push in with moderate pressure and turn it clockwise until it clicks into place 3 times. Sqzbox is right on the money with quantities.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2010, 06:22 PM
Madmax305's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Brea, Ca.
Posts: 249
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Thanks for all the input guys....This will be my project for next week.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2010, 11:36 PM
F-BIRD'88's Avatar
Yada Yada Yada
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,153
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 380 Times in 374 Posts
A 2800-3000 stall is just right for the 270H magnum cam.

A "stock" converter (the 12" 2000 stall) will work but the acceleration will be
a bit lame compared to a 3000 stall.

A "stock" GM 13" converter will be too low a stall and can/may result in idling issues when idleing "in gear" as well as lame initial acceleration.

Do not combine the high stall converter with a hiway gear ratio. Like 2.56:1

The only things you have to watch when installing the new torque converter is to add at least 1 quart of auto trans fluid to the converter before install and to make sure the converter is seated all the way into the trans pump and correct torque converter bolts are used to attach the converter to the flex plate.
A good time to inspect the flex plate and ring gear (welds) as they are often cracked between the flywheel bolts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2010, 11:57 PM
Madmax305's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Brea, Ca.
Posts: 249
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by F-BIRD'88
A 2800-3000 stall is just right for the 270H magnum cam.

A "stock" converter (the 12" 2000 stall) will work but the acceleration will be
a bit lame compared to a 3000 stall.

A "stock" GM 13" converter will be too low a stall and can/may result in idling issues when idleing "in gear" as well as lame initial acceleration.

Do not combine the high stall converter with a hiway gear ratio. Like 2.56:1

The only things you have to watch when installing the new torque converter is to add at least 1 quart of auto trans fluid to the converter before install and to make sure the converter is seated all the way into the trans pump and correct torque converter bolts are used to attach the converter to the flex plate.
A good time to inspect the flex plate and ring gear (welds) as they are often cracked between the flywheel bolts.
Great info, Thanks....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10-30-2010, 01:57 AM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
1qt. in TC, 4-5qt in pan, start engine, shift thru D 2 1 & R, add a qt. or 2, check & fill to full. If you have the vehicle on jackstands make sure you stop the wheels before shifting from D to R.
Trans Capacities >> http://www.tciauto.com/Products/Tech...d_capacity.asp

From TCI's FAQ Section:
You should have 1/8" (.125") to 3/16" (.1875") between the torque converter and flexplate before pulling the converter forward and bolting it to flexplate.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
You can use a straight edge, laying it across the face of the bell housing. (Engine side) Then with the converter installed in transmission, take a ruler and measure the distance from the straight edge down to the mounting pad of the converter.
The measurement should be as follows:

GM Turbo-Hydramatic 4L60 1 1/8" from Bell housing to Pads----------------
GM Turbo-Hydramatic 4L60E 1 1/8" from Bell housing to Pads---------------
GM Turbo-Hydramatic 4L80E 1 1/8" from Bell housing to Pads---------------
GM Turbo-Hydramatic 350 1 1/8" from Bell housing to Pads-----------------
GM Turbo-Hydramatic 400 1 3/16" from Bell housing to Pads----------------
GM Powerglide 1 1/8" from Bell housing to Pads----------------------------
Ford C-6 1 1/8" from Bell housing to Pads---------------------------------
Ford C-4 1 1/8" from Bell housing to Pads---------------------------------
Ford AOD & AODE 1 1/8" from Bell housing to Pads-------------------------
Chrysler Torqueflite 727 1 " from Bell housing to Ring gear (NOT PADS)----
Note: Distance may vary either way .050".
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
You should inspect the old converter you are removing for damage to the converter hub that rides in the pump of the transmission. If you find any wear on the hub at all, you should replace both seal and bushing. If you find no wear at all, you may be fine with just a seal replacement. You should at least do one (seal) if not both. (seal & bushing)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
jeggs stall converter any good? alle4901 Transmission - Rearend 4 04-26-2009 05:00 PM
Sizing & Choosing a Stall Converter S10 Racer Transmission - Rearend 3 03-18-2008 10:09 PM
stall converter adam15425 Engine 26 10-15-2004 05:50 PM
good stall converter? camaro409 Transmission - Rearend 1 06-26-2004 06:22 PM
Stall converter? 79ElCamino Transmission - Rearend 3 06-05-2003 07:16 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.