Question on 1966 amc rebel project - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> General Rodding Tech
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2012, 10:07 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Question on 1966 amc rebel project

Hi I am new to the amc cars I am looking into buying a 1966 amc rebel with straight six three speed on the column. I was wondering if this is a desirable car and worth putting the time in I like the style and the rarity it would be different in my opionion sense most of the time u see later ramblers and rebels fixed up I was wondering what all it would take to put a 401 engine in replace of the straight six and I was wondering if there's anything you can do to modernize the toque tube? I was planning on possibly putting a four speed tranny to replace the 3 speed. if any of u guys could help me out with any info on how the best way to do all this would be that would great thanks

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-03-2012, 10:44 PM
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser

Last photo:

Thanked 1,161 Times in 1,024 Posts
Here is the cold hard facts, it isn't going to be "worth" restoring or building into a hot rod being it isn't a popular car, the market is VERY small for it compared to a Chevy, Ford or Mopar (in that order).

That's the bad news, the good news is parts are VERY cheap compared to those more popular cars. The motor parts are a little more because there isn't that big of a market for the manufacturer. But for used parts, NOS parts, that sort of thing, they are CHEAP, much cheaper than the popular cars.

You can build it and enjoy it, you can build it and go places and you will be the only one there, that can really be fun.