Question about Lock-Up T/C - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2003, 01:49 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 42
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post Question about Lock-Up T/C

Hi,

I just finished installing a 'built' 2004R behind the mildly built 350 in my '67 Camaro.

I went with a 2200 stall lock-up converter as this is what was reccomended for my cam.

For the lock up control, I'm replaced the existing two prong brake light switch with a 4 prong. The T/C is only supposed to lock in 4th gear (?) I believe. When I press the brakes the T/C is supposed to unlock, again only in 4th gear.

Well, my trans is locking the T/C immediately after the 2/3 shift. If I hold the break pedal slightly while accelerating the rpm jumps about 300 or so. When it goes into 4th, I'm fairly certain it's locked up, but pressing the brake pedal doesn't cause the RPM to go up like it does while in 3rd. Odd.

I called the builders and they told me that there was "no way" it was locking up in third.

What could cause the lock up to act like this?

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Roy

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2003, 07:25 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 24
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Does it seem to lock up if you keep the shifter in 3rd gear? Also I just put a 700r4 in my 67 chevy pickup and wired the t/c through the toggle switch, which means a little more work for me, but this way I know when it is and isn't working.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2003, 06:53 PM
kid kid is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: califorina
Posts: 30
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Painless wiring makes a kit so your lockup tranny will work right in older non computer controlled cars. The kits 125 bucks they have one in the summit cataolog on page 229 of the newest one. I bet thats your problem.
Good luck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.