Question about a NOTrod car... - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> General Rodding Tech
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2011, 11:50 AM
el pollo's Avatar
It's shady under this tree...
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kittrell, NC
Age: 35
Posts: 175
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question about a NOTrod car...

It's my daily. I have a 1998 Elantra that I use as daily transportation as it knocks down 30MPG on my 43 mile each way commute.

The problem I have is a few nights ago, it threw a code. No big deal. Missfire on #3. Cleared the code, and bought some plugs. Today I go to the inspection station to get it inspected, and realize I have another, bigger problem. NC state inspections do a two step process from what I saw. Scan with engine off, then engine on. The scan when off goes through fine, but it seems that every time the engine is cut back on, the computer clears it's self and won't communicate with the state computer.

Anyone seen this before? My own scanner communicates fine. The guy at the inspection station used his own scanner and everything checked out fine. The state computer, which makes all of the relevant sensors report back, won't communicate.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2011, 11:59 AM
dinger's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: 36 Ford painting
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Visalia, Ca.
Age: 61
Posts: 2,707
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 102
Thanked 108 Times in 74 Posts
Would it help to disconnect the battery for an hour or so, then reconnect?
__________________
"When I was younger, I could remember anything, whether it had happened or not." - Mark Twain
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2011, 01:41 PM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by el pollo
It's my daily. I have a 1998 Elantra that I use as daily transportation as it knocks down 30MPG on my 43 mile each way commute.

The problem I have is a few nights ago, it threw a code. No big deal. Missfire on #3. Cleared the code, and bought some plugs. Today I go to the inspection station to get it inspected, and realize I have another, bigger problem. NC state inspections do a two step process from what I saw. Scan with engine off, then engine on. The scan when off goes through fine, but it seems that every time the engine is cut back on, the computer clears it's self and won't communicate with the state computer.

Anyone seen this before? My own scanner communicates fine. The guy at the inspection station used his own scanner and everything checked out fine. The state computer, which makes all of the relevant sensors report back, won't communicate.
It sounds like the problem is on THEIR end, not yours. Can you use a different inspection station?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2011, 03:23 PM
techinspector1's Avatar
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hemet, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 12,587
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 700
Thanked 885 Times in 752 Posts
Good luck. NC is my home state and never in my life have I ever encountered so many ignorant, inbred buffoons who haven't a clue. Well, maybe Alabama.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2011, 04:17 PM
el pollo's Avatar
It's shady under this tree...
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kittrell, NC
Age: 35
Posts: 175
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinger
Would it help to disconnect the battery for an hour or so, then reconnect?
That could work, but I'm thinking it would put me back to square one. See, I cleared the code the night before. Drove 86 miles on it, and still ended up with two copies of an incomplete inspection that had too many "not completed" checks.

The 02 sensor, Evap system, catalyst, and 02 sensor heater all came up as "not completed" data. So I drove the car around town, filled up the tank, and went back to the station. The inspector checked it in the parking lot and said it'll pass (I hadn't cut the engine off), and pulled it into the bay. He hooked it up to the computer, and it went through the first phase fine. Cut the engine off, and did the second check. It then asked to start it up again. The third check came up as incomplete. So he logged off the computer and rebooted it. Still the same thing.

I go to this station because the guy is honest and up front. He's never lied to me and helped me out the best he can when something is wrong. He also knows if there was ever anything wrong, I'd fix it because I hate having broken vehicles.

Tech, you're right. Most (not all), are some of the dumbest people on the planet. I think it's because inspector mechanics are always the greenest guys in the building. Seems that if you want to turn wrenches in North Carolina, you have to go through state inspection training first. the smart ones move on...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2011, 05:46 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,173
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 199
Thanked 251 Times in 233 Posts
Chances are you have a malfunction that generates a trouble code .
That would result in a monitor(or 2) not resetting wich is what is failing your car on the OBD test. Some pennsylvania countys have an obd test and some have just a gas cap test.The counties that have the OBD test hook to the car like North Cackillacky does. In Pa if your car is obd II all the monitors have to clear as running and The MIL cannot be on.
However an emmision waiver can be granted if a certain dollar threshold has been met as an attempt to repair the emission issue and results are not obtained, allowing the owner to operate the vehicle on the premise that it will cause a hardship for the owner, and money has been spent to attempt to repair the problem , unsuccesfully.
Not sure if N C has a waiver type sticker it is worth asking the inspector.
Lack of vehicle communication while running may be due to the self check system ( monitors) is keeping the PCM too busy to communicate with the state computer, due to the operational strategy and memory capacity it needs to perform all the system tests
I would suggest trying to repair the issue .Monitors wont reset if the system in question is developing a malfunction.
Drive it for a day or two, see if it sets a code, look for one trip codes(pending) and if there is nothing, look at the live data for discrepencies.
Keep us posted
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2011, 05:56 PM
el pollo's Avatar
It's shady under this tree...
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kittrell, NC
Age: 35
Posts: 175
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'll definitely keep ya'll posted.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-04-2011, 08:27 AM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by techinspector1
Good luck. NC is my home state and never in my life have I ever encountered so many ignorant, inbred buffoons who haven't a clue. Well, maybe Alabama.

man do you have that right! beautiful landscape and the people there are nice. but, theyre not too bright out there...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-04-2011, 05:14 PM
el pollo's Avatar
It's shady under this tree...
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kittrell, NC
Age: 35
Posts: 175
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnsmith10
man do you have that right! beautiful landscape and the people there are nice. but, theyre not too bright out there...
I shake my head when I see something (daily) stupid. I personally am not from North Carolina, but my extended family is. The biggest thing that drives me nuts is seeing guys pull out Richmond 6 speed trannies and stuff in a powerglide and then sell the Richmond for practically peanuts. Same with fuel injection systems because their uncle says nothing beats a Holley. Just two days ago my neighbor was going to attempt to pull his 30+ foot pontoon boat with his wife's Sequoia because he couldn't fit everyone in his Avalanche. Even the Avalanche was overloaded. I gave him the "You're stupid" look and he decided against it.

Yep, I am looked upon as a strange character in these parts. Backwoods redneck, no doubt. But I seem to have the upper hand in the common sense department.

Anyhow, an update. I have changed the plugs, and bought a fuel filter and a can of MAF cleaner. I'm grasping at straws being as I have zero trouble codes. The filter, as far as I now, hasn't been changed in a long while...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-05-2011, 05:51 PM
el pollo's Avatar
It's shady under this tree...
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kittrell, NC
Age: 35
Posts: 175
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Okay, so I got my hands all cut up today. Changed the fuel filter, which is located just under the brake booster, just behind the transmission mount and has every freaking brake line next to it in a web of major cluster-what-the-F... I also cleaned up the MAF sensor.

Anyway, the car runs much better now. But just in case, I scanned the OBDII just to make sure everything was okay. I found these two codes: PO743 and PO747. Torque convertor clutch circuit electrical and pressure control solenoid stuck on. Now, the transmission seems to shift fine (except for a few times, where it would suddenly downshift, which I was able to trace to the TPS). Now, can trouble codes with the transmission cause the inspection station computer act weird and not be able to read the car;s computer? The check engine light was not on when I scanned it...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 06-05-2011, 07:30 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,173
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 199
Thanked 251 Times in 233 Posts
I would have to guess at that one, but It would be yes.It is malfunctioning and it will keep some of the emission monitors from resetting to complete.
the system monitors are sequential one has to complete before the next( i dont recall the priority or the order) but one can keep the others from complete there routine.A trans problem like that may keep any one of the monitors from running and completing, wich the state computer is seeing and failing your car for.
Post the monitors that are not complete,i will have a look tommorow as to a more specific cause.
If you have some sort of TPS issue, that may be the root cause of the trans malfunction as shift points use TPS value(and several others) to create shift points.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2011, 04:38 AM
el pollo's Avatar
It's shady under this tree...
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kittrell, NC
Age: 35
Posts: 175
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by latech
I would have to guess at that one, but It would be yes.It is malfunctioning and it will keep some of the emission monitors from resetting to complete.
the system monitors are sequential one has to complete before the next( i dont recall the priority or the order) but one can keep the others from complete there routine.A trans problem like that may keep any one of the monitors from running and completing, wich the state computer is seeing and failing your car for.
Post the monitors that are not complete,i will have a look tommorow as to a more specific cause.
If you have some sort of TPS issue, that may be the root cause of the trans malfunction as shift points use TPS value(and several others) to create shift points.
I replaced the TPS about two months ago. It's also listed as a transmission kickdown sensor. That was actually the code I was getting. So the TPS got replaced, and it hasn't been screwy since. But still, every once in a while I get weird transmission codes that come up even though performance-wise, nothing is wrong at all. I'll probably be irritated when I finish replacing stuff only to find out the computer was to blame all along...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2011, 04:32 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,173
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 199
Thanked 251 Times in 233 Posts
I would be checking wire connectors closely, they could very well be problematic. I had a toyota once that had a broken wire in the wire harness where it jumps from the engine to the body, it was a ground splice right in the middle and the wire had one broken at the crimp where 3 were spliced together.Took a little checking to finlly find it, boy was the customer happy.
Look into the connectors for deformed pins and clasps,also look into the back of the connector for the green fuzzy stuff( oxidized copper) a good sign of a bad connection.I would check at the trans connector first as you said sometimes you have a symptom with that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2011, 04:48 PM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 56
Posts: 5,095
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 7
Thanked 102 Times in 87 Posts
Check the fuse for the cigarette lighter. This fuse also powers the DLC connector in a lot of cars. Not sure on Hyundai but it is worth a look.
__________________
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity



Chet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2011, 05:22 PM
el pollo's Avatar
It's shady under this tree...
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kittrell, NC
Age: 35
Posts: 175
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-bucket23
Check the fuse for the cigarette lighter. This fuse also powers the DLC connector in a lot of cars. Not sure on Hyundai but it is worth a look.
I'll check that, although the connector works, and the lighter has never worked since I've had the car.

I'll also check the wiring harness tomorrow, I'll just look at the ones to the trans and backtrack.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent General Rodding Tech posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about vehical weight and engine question Thuggishruggish3000 Engine 12 03-24-2011 05:22 AM
sbc timing question and carb question.....i am ready to absorb your knowledge c_cham Engine 16 02-12-2011 11:26 AM
steering question and brake booster question Hwyhogg Suspension - Brakes - Steering 0 11-21-2010 05:02 PM
Timing question and cylinder head question.. Blackhauk90 Engine 3 05-22-2007 01:10 PM
not a rod question but an engine swap question for a daily driver.. DeathByGreaser Hotrodders' Lounge 2 01-22-2004 10:59 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.