question about protecting backside of weld - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-22-2012, 01:57 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

question about protecting backside of weld

Ive been slowly working on the body of my 68 Skylark and just recently welded up all of my trim holes left behind after removing it. Im new to welding and was looking for advice on how you guys would treat the backside of the weld when it's NOT accessible with grinders and such. Most of them I can reach and clean, but what should I do with the ones I can't? I can probably get some spray down there but no tools. Should I just leave it, spray it with some epoxy or undercoating? Or will it still corrode if the weld isn't cleaned first?
How would you do it? Thanks

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-22-2012, 02:36 PM

Last journal entry: rust on lt body shell
Last photo:

Where are we talking about on what panels? wHAT AREAS CAN YOU GET TO AND WHAT ONES CAN'T YOU REACH. PICTURES WOULD BE NICE.
Old 06-22-2012, 02:56 PM

Last photo:

Front lower qtrs, between the door and the wheel well. Fenders also, i didn't want to have to remove the hood/fenders to get to the last two closest to the door. But if it's crucial then I will. I can reach the others. No pics at the moment. Can try in a fee days.
I guess im just wondering how important it is to get these cleaned and protected, and what's best. Or if I dont have to worry too much. I want to do it the best I can now and not have to return to it later.

Last edited by Cleangreen68; 06-22-2012 at 03:06 PM.
Old 06-22-2012, 05:06 PM

Last journal entry: rust on lt body shell
Last photo: