question for experienced painters... - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2009, 01:46 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

question for experienced painters...

i have a dilemma...I've been spraying clear with my iwata 1.4 lph-400 since i began this trade...The gun is awesome and quite frankly, this is the gun to use for the smoothest and best finish...I'm a production painter and although we all want the best finish, the iwata is harder to be consistent...I tend to make a lot of runs and sags with the iwata (never bad enough to redo the job though) and especially areas that have no base...I just think it atomizes too much I've used my co-workers sata nr3000 1.3 to spray ppg clear and not only does it come out nice every time, i'm in and out of the booth in 20% less time...So I'm debating whether or not just stick to what i know, or jump ship and try something new? Have any of you ever sprayed clear with the nr2000 or nr3000? I've tried the rp2000 a long time ago and didn't use it enough to get a good feel for it...is the rp3000 even better than the nr3000 when spraying clear? And for you iwata guys, which sprays clear better, the w400 or the lph400? and I'm looking for a good primer gun...been leaning towards the lph440...thanks...

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-27-2009, 10:29 AM
The Penny Pincher

Last journal entry: Hanging Bumpers
Last photo:

My Iwata LPH400 is the best clear gun I've used so far, but it is a slow gun.
I don't do "all overs", I just do small collision repair and usually not
painting more than a couple panels at a time, so the Iwata is perfect for me.
If I did complete paint jobs, I'd get a Sata.