A question for you electric choke guys - Page 2 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2008, 08:58 PM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 57
Posts: 5,362
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 9
Thanked 145 Times in 128 Posts
The type and quality of the connection and proper wire sizing is more important than where you physically connect it. Be sure is is fused as close to the source as possible. Running by the mainfold has big potential for a broken or pinched wire.

PS There is no terminal on a Chevy starter that is switched on with just the key on.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2008, 10:01 PM
carsavvycook's Avatar
My 2 cents worth
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lakeside, CA
Age: 58
Posts: 2,855
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
PS There is no terminal on a Chevy starter that is switched on with just the key on.[/QUOTE]

I stand corrected on my post. When I had some down time today at work I remembered that connection on the starter was used to send power to the coil on the early "points" systems while cranking. I have been working the last 29 days straight and my memory has been a little foggy lately. Sorry for the miss information.

Stephen
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2008, 10:17 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
3-prong senders

I like the 2 & 3-prong oil pressure senders for choke & fuel pump relays. I also run a wire from the (R) terminal on the starter to the oil sender to activate the fuel pump relay a little sooner when cranking. Safety safety.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 06-01-2008, 11:07 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 389
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks for all the replies it really helps So since the choke doesn't draw very much amperage I can hook it up to any 12volt ignition source. My next question is, where can I hook my electric fuel pump up to, the engine came with a mechanical one and I am unsure of what to tap into for power here.

Thanks again,
Keith
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2008, 02:36 AM
curtis73's Avatar
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel
 
Last wiki edit: How to find cheap parts
Last journal entry: Found an LQ9 today
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Carlisle, PA
Age: 41
Posts: 5,316
Wiki Edits: 16

Thanks: 20
Thanked 25 Times in 19 Posts
If you want to use the oil pressure switch, its relatively easy. Of the single-connector switches, some switches are grounded when pressure is present, others are grounded when there is no pressure. They all look very similar. I did this exact thing for my electric fuel pump in my boat. I didn't want the pump dead-heading against my needle and seat when the engine wasn't running so I used a relay to a switch that grounds when pressure is present.

I sent switched power to one side of the relay's trigger coil, then grounded it at the pressure switch. Then battery voltage to the switched side and out to the pump. I also rigged up a manual switch to ground the relay if I want to prime the bowls at the beginning of the season.

You could do the same, but since its a tiny voltage you don't need to run a big 12v supply line. Just run switched 12v power to both of the "in" sides of the relay. Then out to the choke and ground the relay at the switch.

The easier way is to use a pressure switch with multiple connectors. They typically provide continuity (through the switch, not to ground) when pressure is present and you can skip the relay.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2008, 03:41 AM
malc's Avatar
Living At The Speed Of Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: España Right Coast
Posts: 3,323
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 119
Thanked 159 Times in 130 Posts
A relay is essential in wiring a fuel pump as well an oil pressure switch, mentioned above.

Relay,
Terminal 30 to battery with fuse
Terminal 87 to fuel pump
Terminal 86 to oil pressure switch
Terminal 85 to ground

A relay is used because the pump needs a full 12V feed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2008, 10:13 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: California
Age: 68
Posts: 832
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 28
Thanked 23 Times in 20 Posts
Hey Keith
DocVette had several good posts describing a relay-triggered electric choke circuit that picked up a wire off teh alternator to trigger the relay. The idea was, if the engine wasn't running, the alternator would not be producing power, so the relay would not be triggered and the choke heater would not be powered-up". Wouldn't work with a one wire, I don't think, bu tif you check his posts in the electrical forum, I'm sure you'll get some more good input.

Pat
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2008, 06:04 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 389
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Thanks again guys. What kind of relay should I be looking for?? Where can I attain such a relay??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2008, 06:46 PM
carsavvycook's Avatar
My 2 cents worth
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lakeside, CA
Age: 58
Posts: 2,855
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Most RV supply places have them with the connector that plugs on to it, or any parts house will surely have the relay in stock. It is a real commonly used Bosch relay.

So common I keep 10 in stock.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2008, 08:53 PM
Jmark's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: phoenix
Age: 61
Posts: 4,932
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 47 Times in 36 Posts
Lots of Bosch and "bosch style" relays on ebay one at a time or in bulk. Good to have a few around for projects.

clicky here.


Mark
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2008, 10:28 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Relays

Another cheap place to get relays. Junkyard. You can get the whole relay blocks that are used to mount 3-5 relays in 1 spot. The FrontWheelDrive cars are a good place to scrounge. Usually have multiples in 1 block. Horn,Fuelpump,ACfan,Radfan,lights etc. The Toyotas have high quality relays, haven't had 1 go bad.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2008, 11:18 PM
carsavvycook's Avatar
My 2 cents worth
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lakeside, CA
Age: 58
Posts: 2,855
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSedan64
Another cheap place to get relays. Junkyard. You can get the whole relay blocks that are used to mount 3-5 relays in 1 spot. The FrontWheelDrive cars are a good place to scrounge. Usually have multiples in 1 block. Horn,Fuelpump,ACfan,Radfan,lights etc. The Toyotas have high quality relays, haven't had 1 go bad.
Two things you have to be careful of when doing this, is whether or not the relay is diode protected or not, and their specific wiring schematic. The universal Bosch relay can be wired with a ground trigger, or a positive trigger, and there are numerous sites on the web that that show both ways to trigger it.

One of my favorites is http://www.6066gmcguy.org/BoschRelay.htm
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2008, 11:26 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by carsavvycook
Two things you have to be careful of when doing this, is whether or not the relay is diode protected or not, and their specific wiring schematic. The universal Bosch relay can be wired with a ground trigger, or a positive trigger, and there are numerous sites on the web that that show both ways to trigger it.

One of my favorites is http://www.6066gmcguy.org/BoschRelay.htm
Glad you add that info Carsavvy. I try to get mine from the older cars, but there getting crushed pretty fast. Great link BTW.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2008, 01:28 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 389
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Here is a pic of my oil pressure sensor.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...essureunit.jpg

Since it is a 2 prong unit, how the **** do I hook up a realy to that. I am so confused these days haha all help appreciated as always!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2008, 02:29 PM
malc's Avatar
Living At The Speed Of Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: España Right Coast
Posts: 3,323
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 119
Thanked 159 Times in 130 Posts
I think you´ll need a GM three terminal oil pressure switch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How does an electric choke work? firewood Engine 18 06-19-2010 08:19 PM
Quadrajet electric choke. kegross1 Electrical 7 09-21-2009 09:01 AM
Manual or Electric Choke? 58Chev Engine 6 06-02-2006 08:00 AM
Electric Choke Conversion ? bigjoedo Engine 2 01-27-2003 08:17 PM
Carburetors, electric or manual choke? 66StangBoy Engine 5 11-07-2002 05:30 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.