A question for you electric choke guys - Page 3 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2008, 01:52 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sexypizzaman
Here is a pic of my oil pressure sensor.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...essureunit.jpg

Since it is a 2 prong unit, how the **** do I hook up a realy to that. I am so confused these days haha all help appreciated as always!!
Have you checked this link from carsavvys earlier post?
http://www.6066gmcguy.org/BoschRelay.htm
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2008, 06:47 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 389
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I have decided to wire it up to a 12volt switched ignition source without a relay. I found an extra 12v wire that is switched power which I am going to use and run a manual on/off switch in the wiring as well. I really need to figure out this oil sensor crap because the connector I have in my car is 1 terminal and the sensor the parts store sold me has 2 terminals.

The joys of hotrodding
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2008, 07:10 PM
shortyforty's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: V8 suspension added
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NH
Age: 65
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The electric choke wire on my 85 Mustang 5.0 goes to the field terminal of the alternator.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2008, 08:17 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 642
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Think of a 2 terminal oil sender as a toggle switch. That is basically what it is an
On/Off switch that is switched by oil pressure. A one wire oil sender would be for just an oil gauge. And a 3 wire oil sender would be a combination of the two above stated oil senders.

Last edited by HalfOunce; 06-03-2008 at 08:42 PM. Reason: additional info
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2008, 09:43 PM
66GMC's Avatar
Get in, sit down, hang on
 

Last journal entry: Cab Removal
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Olds, Alberta Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 2,761
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 32
Thanked 89 Times in 84 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortyforty
The electric choke wire on my 85 Mustang 5.0 goes to the field terminal of the alternator.
I worked for Ford parts for many years.
Some of those choke caps are designed for 15 volts ... for exactly that reason. A Ford (Motorcraft) choke cap fits right on a Holley carb, BTW.

Holley's instruction sheet advises AGAINST using the 12V coil feed wire.

I have read in someone's reply here that they think that the power draw of a choke cap is negligible, and I disagree with that. ANY device that is designed to produce heat typically draws a pretty substantial current. If we are talking about the draw required by a RELAY ... OK
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2008, 11:07 PM
mustang lover
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: rochester ny
Age: 39
Posts: 26
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am also trying to hook up my electric choke in a 1968 ford 302 mustang with a 570 cfm carburetor where should i spice it IN ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 06-04-2008, 05:13 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 642
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherriff
I am also trying to hook up my electric choke in a 1968 ford 302 mustang with a 570 cfm carburetor where should i spice it IN ?
You might want to start another thread as this one is for a CHEVY
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 07-19-2008, 11:59 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: not a big fan of cherry picker...
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Gowanda, NY
Posts: 78
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a quick question about all this... I read in another post to mount an electrical pump as close to the tank as possible and as low as possible... So in using the oil pressure sensor you should run a wire all the way back there? Seems odd to me... but I am learning EVERYDAY from this site. Along that question where is the best place to mount the pump... say on a 78 Monte Carlo?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 07-20-2008, 02:46 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 642
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If you wanted to use an oil pressure switch to trigger a fuel pump, you wouldn't want to actually trigger the fuel pump itself but a relay that would power up the fuel pump. and yes you would have to run wire all the way back there. I personally would not even bother to put an electrical pump on and put it next to the engine far away from the fuel source. Because they are made for pushing fuel not siphoning it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2008, 04:13 AM
malc's Avatar
Born To Be Mild
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Espaņa Right Coast
Age: 63
Posts: 3,194
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 61
Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRSleeper2
I have a quick question about all this... I read in another post to mount an electrical pump as close to the tank as possible and as low as possible... So in using the oil pressure sensor you should run a wire all the way back there? Seems odd to me... but I am learning EVERYDAY from this site. Along that question where is the best place to mount the pump... say on a 78 Monte Carlo?
The relay for the fuel pump can be in the engine bay, the pressure switch connects to 86 on the relay 87 goes to the pump, 85 to ground and 30 to battery positive.
The pressure switch is in turn connected to the start circuit and ignition switched 12 volts.
Only one wire has to go back to the fuel pump from the relay, connection 87.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2008, 04:16 AM
malc's Avatar
Born To Be Mild
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Espaņa Right Coast
Age: 63
Posts: 3,194
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 61
Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRSleeper2
I have a quick question about all this... I read in another post to mount an electrical pump as close to the tank as possible and as low as possible... So in using the oil pressure sensor you should run a wire all the way back there? Seems odd to me... but I am learning EVERYDAY from this site. Along that question where is the best place to mount the pump... say on a 78 Monte Carlo?
The relay for the fuel pump can be in the engine bay, the pressure switch connects to 86 on the relay 87 goes to the pump, 85 to ground and 30 to battery positive.
The pressure switch is in turn connected to the start circuit and ignition switched 12 volts.
Only one wire has to go back to the fuel pump from the relay, connection 87.

OldUsedParts has his pump mounted on the inside front fender of his 55 Chevy and it works just fine.
Instructions usually call for them to be mounted near and below the fuel tank.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 07-21-2008, 10:32 AM
Denny's Avatar
34 chevy truck 410 merc power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Loves Park, Ill
Age: 65
Posts: 746
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 94
Thanked 122 Times in 118 Posts
Here's just a quick relay setup for reference setup.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	basic fuel pump relay wiring.JPG
Views:	141
Size:	21.3 KB
ID:	31380  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 07-22-2008, 01:07 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 642
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
OldUsedParts has his pump mounted on the inside front fender of his 55 Chevy and it works just fine.
Instructions usually call for them to be mounted near and below the fuel tank.[/QUOTE]
They must not stand on the gas much/make a full run with it through the gears WOT
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How does an electric choke work? firewood Engine 18 06-19-2010 07:19 PM
Quadrajet electric choke. kegross1 Electrical 7 09-21-2009 08:01 AM
Manual or Electric Choke? 58Chev Engine 6 06-02-2006 07:00 AM
Electric Choke Conversion ? bigjoedo Engine 2 01-27-2003 07:17 PM
Carburetors, electric or manual choke? 66StangBoy Engine 5 11-07-2002 04:30 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.