A question for you electric choke guys - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2008, 08:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 389
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
A question for you electric choke guys

What is the easiest 12 volt ignition source to use for wiring up my choke? I know it can't be connected straight to 12 volts all the time I just don't know which wire to splice off for my choke. Any input here appreciated.

Thanks,
Keith

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2008, 08:37 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: QUENCH AAARRRGGGHHHH!!!!
Posts: 95
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
probably the coil. without knowing your car, hard to say
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2008, 08:40 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Wiring diagram 1953 Chevrolet
Last journal entry: Spare Tire Dent Removal
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: a little S/E of Nome
Posts: 789
Wiki Edits: 647

Thanks: 6
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
What kind of vehicle?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2008, 08:50 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 389
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
its a 1980 camaro z28
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2008, 09:43 PM
Greg T's Avatar
www.krusinklassics.net
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Escanaba, MI.
Age: 60
Posts: 1,150
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 20
Thanked 41 Times in 32 Posts
DO NOT tap into the coil or distributor lead. Run a separate wire from a switched source at the fuse block.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2008, 10:00 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 642
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I would wire it into an oil pressure switch... Then you do not have to remember to turn it on or off...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-29-2008, 10:21 PM
carsavvycook's Avatar
My 2 cents worth
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lakeside, CA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,855
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I would run it to the IGN side of the starter(not the STR side) with a fused wire. This is a "run position source" that will not effect your engine performance, or breach your firewall to get power with the key on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2008, 12:17 AM
curtis73's Avatar
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel
 
Last wiki edit: How to find cheap parts
Last journal entry: 1999-2001: Getting it on the road
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Carlisle, PA
Age: 41
Posts: 5,156
Wiki Edits: 16

Thanks: 2
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
I split off the HEI pink wire. Everyone says not to do it, but its a very low-draw item. Its not stealing any juice from the HEI since the 12-gauge supply wire is more than adequate for both.

Hooking to the starter will only give you voltage during cranking. There are no switched ign leads on any common starter I know of. Just hot and start.

The oil pressure switch is a good idea. I've done that in a few cars that didn't have "acc" positions on the key. If you spend a lot of time in your car with the engine not running but the key in the ON position, this might be a wise investment. An added benefit is that you can also wire your HEI through that switch, so that if you lose oil pressure the engine shuts off.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2008, 12:25 AM
techinspector1's Avatar
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hemet, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 12,988
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 768
Thanked 1,026 Times in 858 Posts
Never have done it, but someone mentioned running it off the windshield wiper motor hot line.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2008, 05:42 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 642
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by carsavvycook
I would run it to the IGN side of the starter(not the STR side) with a fused wire. This is a "run position source" that will not effect your engine performance, or breach your firewall to get power with the key on.
I'd like to see this spot never seen a run position on a starter ever.
I know of 3 positions on a gm starter of that era. and they are big post= hot all the time directly from batt+...then (R) which would be used for a points setup
this sends 12vdc to the coil during cranking only. Then the (S) terminal which is for cranking 12vdc from ignition switch to trigger the starter solenoid.
The reason i mentioned oil pressure switch is thats how the factory did it. They either used a 3 prong oil sender at the back of engine behind of distributor or a 2 prong sender just above the oil filter boss on small blocks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2008, 08:02 AM
Jmark's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: phoenix
Age: 61
Posts: 4,824
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Wow, lots of ideas on this one.

I too have never seen a "run" terminal on any starter.
I HAVE hooked the elect choke to the HEI "batt" lead and it's been working fine on my truck for like that for over 16 years now. I also wired in my idle solonoid to the same wire, still working fine.

On my 86 truck, I added a charging solonoid to run dual batteries. I needed a "trigger" source for it and ran it to my wiper motor. One wire is hot when the key is on. Yep, working fine too.

As far as wiring it to the oil sending unit???? How does that work? The stock sending unit is a one wire unit that sends a ground signal to the guage, atleast on my three Chevies. I don't see an easy way to isolate the electric choke ground so you could accomplish this. Can someone 'splain it to me? LOL

Bottom line, the elect choke amp draw is minimal and can be hooked to just about anything handy under the hood.

Mark
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2008, 08:52 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Simple answer, tap in to any 12V source that is hot when the key is in the "on" position. I used the power wire for the windshield wiper motor. It is close and readily available.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2008, 10:00 AM
34 chevy truck 410 merc power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 861
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 107
Thanked 134 Times in 129 Posts
65ny gets the cookie... Once you do that, there is no fear of the 12 volts staying on, because the choke stat has it's own cut out disc, or, the spring is designed to expand so far with that voltage. So yes, the wiper hot wire when switch is on, is a good place to splice in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2008, 01:35 PM
malc's Avatar
Living At The Speed Of Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Espaņa Right Coast
Age: 63
Posts: 3,273
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 94
Thanked 103 Times in 86 Posts
My 1978 Camaro had a Q-Jet with electric choke,
how did yours lose the hookup ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2008, 04:57 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 642
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmark
Wow, lots of ideas on this one.

I too have never seen a "run" terminal on any starter.
I HAVE hooked the elect choke to the HEI "batt" lead and it's been working fine on my truck for like that for over 16 years now. I also wired in my idle solonoid to the same wire, still working fine.

On my 86 truck, I added a charging solonoid to run dual batteries. I needed a "trigger" source for it and ran it to my wiper motor. One wire is hot when the key is on. Yep, working fine too.

As far as wiring it to the oil sending unit???? How does that work? The stock sending unit is a one wire unit that sends a ground signal to the guage, atleast on my three Chevies. I don't see an easy way to isolate the electric choke ground so you could accomplish this. Can someone 'splain it to me? LOL

Bottom line, the elect choke amp draw is minimal and can be hooked to just about anything handy under the hood.

Mark

Depends on the oil sender used some used a 2 prong which would be just for the choke itself and most were mounted above the oil filter boss. some vehicles used a 3prong oil sender back by the distributor one of the wires would have been for the oil gauge and one 12vdc and the 3rd wire to the choke
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How does an electric choke work? firewood Engine 18 06-19-2010 07:19 PM
Quadrajet electric choke. kegross1 Electrical 7 09-21-2009 08:01 AM
Manual or Electric Choke? 58Chev Engine 6 06-02-2006 07:00 AM
Electric Choke Conversion ? bigjoedo Engine 2 01-27-2003 07:17 PM
Carburetors, electric or manual choke? 66StangBoy Engine 5 11-07-2002 04:30 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.