racecar paint (S/S), where to buy? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-05-2005, 09:12 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

racecar paint (S/S), where to buy?

I'm painting up my racecar, which means that i don't want to spend too much but i want something that holds up well and looks decent (not show quality). i was thinking i would use a light grey single stage acrylic urethane and since i'm new to this, i don't have a brand that i'm attached to. i've heard that ppg clv would be a good option, but i'm open to suggestions.
basically i'm looking for places to buy paint online. i'm new to the area that i live and don't know which paints supply shops are good and which aren't (i've been to a few and have gotten a lot of info that conflicts with info that i've read on here, for example i was told that acrylic enamels were just as good as a bc/cc because a clearcoat is so thin anyway ). so i'd appreciate info on good websites.

thanks,
Paul

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-05-2005, 10:38 PM
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser

Last photo:

Thanked 1,138 Times in 1,008 Posts
If they don't give good advice, that doesn't mean you couldn't go in there with info from here and buy a product. PPG OMNI, DuPont NASON and other "Value lines" are the way to go.

Some NAPA auto parts store sell a paint line called "MSU" which is about $100.00 a sprayable gallon, a super deal for an acrylic urethane.
Old 02-06-2005, 06:47 AM