Radiator Fan Switch--which way to go? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2006, 12:18 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: san diego, california
Posts: 81
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Radiator Fan Switch--which way to go?

I installed a temp sensor on the water outlet that triggers the radiator fan at a certain temperature. The unit has not been very dependable and I am told these units have their problems. Has anyone used any particular sensor that gives dependable performance? I would like something that switches the fan on at around 185-195 degrees and does not use a radiator probe, if I can avoid it. There are a lot on the market, just not sure which one works best.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2006, 03:21 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 72
Posts: 1,360
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 63 Times in 59 Posts
Painless Wiring makes a kit that includes the temp. sensor, a relay and a circuit breaker.

The temp. sensors are available in (2) temperature ranges.
Turn on at 200* and off at 185* or
Turn on at 185* and off at 170*.

A relay is required to handle the high current required for the fan motor.

Make sure the coolant thermostat rating is LOWER than the OFF rating the temp. sensor. A 180* thermostat for the 185* sensor or a 160* thermostat for the 170* sensor.

The temp. sensor should be installed in the cylinder head or the intake manifold to work correctly.

Vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2006, 06:17 PM
1939d2/s10's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Memphis,TN
Posts: 61
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If you installed a relay.you should be able to splice into the wire going to the thermo switch to one side of a on/off switch,and the other side of the switch to ground.When switch is grounded the relay will close sending voltage to the fan motor.Im sure that Doc vette has a schematic showing this circuit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2006, 07:58 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 11
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
older pontiac 6000's used a relay that supplied power to the fan at all times and then used the coolant sensor for ground,that way the fan could work when needed and was easy to figure out and test.
the stock sensor didn't come in until about 230 degrees though so another colder sensor might be in order.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2006, 08:34 PM
cucumber1949's Avatar
T-Bucket, Corvette, Mustang
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Greater Cleveland, OH
Age: 65
Posts: 507
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
I have used the following (avail from Summit Racing) for several years and it has been flawless. Completely adjustable. Contains everything you need to hook up your fan including the relay, pre-wired temp probe (intake mainfold), and inline fuse. Also has a lead from the relay unit which will let you override the thermostat to turn on your fan - hook it up either to a switch on the dash or your 12v pos lead on your a/c clutch to force the fan on when the a/c goes on.

http://store.summitracing.com/partde...5&autoview=sku
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-17-2006, 10:46 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 183
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fan controller

I like the CenTech fan controller because it has an under-dash rheostat to "fine tune" it. Bill
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roll Bar Install Advice Mustangsaly General Rodding Tech 12 12-02-2007 09:33 AM
72 chevelle ignition switch assembly problems customdrumfinishes Electrical 9 08-10-2006 06:06 PM
Starter switch stock to modified wiring question. Kallie49 Electrical 5 06-23-2006 07:01 PM
older headlight switch smoking! bigfred1958 Electrical 9 02-15-2004 09:31 PM
Remote Shut Off Switch doesn't shut it off! F-1Rodder Electrical 2 05-01-2003 05:01 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.