raising torque converter lockup - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2005, 08:37 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: atlanta,ga.
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
raising torque converter lockup

i have a 700r4 in a 55 chevy truck behind a smallblock and the tranny works as it should but i would like to raise the torque converter lockup either by pressure or by speed. the result i would like to have is to have a nice wind up in 4th and then go into lockup at about 55mph. i have tried an external pressure switch and have replaced the valve in the vb but the thing still goes into 4th around 42-44mph and then into lockup around 46 mph. tv cable adjustment is not affecting it either. any thoughts would be appreciated. thanks.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2005, 02:53 PM
GoneNova/406's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: columbus,ohio
Age: 59
Posts: 1,163
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
you can adjust the shift points with a governor kit.chevy high performance did an article on it last yr.i think in the nov. issue and super chevy did one in the april issue of this yr.check it out.i've just put one in my th-350 but don't have it fine tuned where i want it yet.its about 35.00 from b&m from jeg's for mine and i beieve yours is nearly the same thing.you can do it in a couple of hrs.including the fine tuning.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2005, 05:48 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: atlanta,ga.
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i was just about to try that very idea. superior puts out a governor kit that i bought a month or so back. but i dont know if changing the shift points will affect the converter lockup. i guess theres only one way to find out. thanks for your input gonenova/406, i will try it this weekend and post my findings.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2005, 07:33 PM
airworld2's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: houston texas
Posts: 583
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
change lock up

depending on the year of the 700 you change and the answer is .... this is a question I'll ask the experts........ lets see who know's there stuff I have post this answer before and have changed many lock up time with ease, triva time ohh the governer wont help with lock up
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2005, 07:06 AM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,131
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 358
Thanked 104 Times in 100 Posts
the post is difficult to understand but, airworld is correct about the governor NOT changing the lock up of the converter , only shift points.


depending on the year and valve body design you can change the mph when the converter locks up. It sounds like you may have discovered the kit the Superior offers for this modification.

If you wish to change shift points and lock up mph then you need to adress both areas inside the tranny.

It is largely trial & error since the tire size , gear ratio and normal internal pressure leaks will affect the shifts points .
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2005, 08:41 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brookfield, WI
Age: 53
Posts: 499
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am reluctant to spec a manufacturer, but B&M has a kit that uses the speedo drive to vary the lockup points thru an adjustable switch in the drivers compartment. Works great but does require some wiring to install.
Lockup can also be controlled by the valve body pressure switches, but this will require some trans expertise... how adventurous are you?
Crosley is right about the variables he lists.
Lockup in a 700 is controlled (in the end) by the activation of the solenoid in the pump. Controlling the current path to the solenoid is the easiest way to control lockup activation.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2005, 05:47 PM
airworld2's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: houston texas
Posts: 583
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
lock up

you can change lock up in ways I would like to address in more detail

pressure switch is the easy way, besides a toggle switch


you can replace the spring(stronger) in the tcc valve in v/b ahhhh
and for the late style replace the solid sleeve with early valve assemble and drill the plate so oil can stroke the valve install ck ball in lock up solenoid and no power is needed for lock up in the application

this way the only cost you have is time and a spring, I have try ed all ways and depends on what your willing to try....

some times to fix problems its takes will and determination

Last edited by airworld2; 03-12-2005 at 05:56 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2005, 08:56 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brookfield, WI
Age: 53
Posts: 499
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
This works great only if you have the correct valve, shift sleeve and spring. I bet there are thousands of these laying around for the average guy to get his hands on.
Besides, are you gonna post the correct plate drilling instructions online AND take responsibility for this info?
We need to deal in reality here.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2005, 11:21 AM
airworld2's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: houston texas
Posts: 583
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
lock up

yep I can back up what I post
as for the valve there are still many valve body around that contain the parts you need. I can even ship the parts we have a hard parts and core supply business with in the family business three Transmission shops in the Houston area. I can assure you results based on my knowledge and experience providing the tranny and converter are in GOOD working order

easy to hard I tried many things some work some don't>> this works

lets not do the my dog is bigger than your's on this.

Last edited by airworld2; 03-13-2005 at 11:30 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-13-2005, 07:32 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,131
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 358
Thanked 104 Times in 100 Posts
chazmac...... airworld knows of what he speaks.

he has the knowledge and experience.

the 3 of us know the method airworld speaks of will work with the correct valve body , parts and modifications.

I am of the opinion the B&M adjustable lockup kit is easier and faster to change the lock up mph .





__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 06-10-2005, 08:21 PM
Roadsire's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Dash mods
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 85
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Good 700r4, 4l60 web site

Here is a great web site for 700r4-4l60e tranny info.

http://www.purplesagetradingpost.com...o/700R4p1.html

I hope it helps........
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 06-10-2005, 09:26 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,131
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 358
Thanked 104 Times in 100 Posts
I provided a large part of the information at that site





Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadsire
Here is a great web site for 700r4-4l60e tranny info.

http://www.purplesagetradingpost.com...o/700R4p1.html

I hope it helps........
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
torque converter IDENTIFICATION 327amc Transmission - Rearend 5 03-26-2005 06:23 PM
How much torque can a turbo350C (lockup converter) take? supercab78 Transmission - Rearend 3 02-28-2005 06:00 PM
Is my jeg's brand torque converter a dud? elukas Transmission - Rearend 5 10-07-2004 11:08 AM
C5 or Torque Converter Bad? k2mooch Transmission - Rearend 2 11-30-2003 08:27 PM
What Can I Really Expect From a High Stall Torque Converter ? white66coupe Transmission - Rearend 3 05-25-2003 05:21 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.