Rat Rod? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-11-2006, 09:13 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Rat Rod?

I'm new to hotrodding, fabricating, enginebuilding etc. etc. I bought a 28 model a tudor cause I saw some really crappy hotrod in a magazine called a "RatRod" and fell in love with the idea of a low buck build/ one off custom speed machine. This was about a year ago, since then I have put the drive train from a lincoln (460,C6 and 9") in a f150 frame for the old ford body to scoot around on. The more I research on the subject it seems that the Idea of a "RatRod" is the before mentioned lowbuck thrown together hateful bastard machine that with a long enough chain would pull the gates off hell, but does it have to be a certain year? Does it have to have a big block? does it have to be homeade? Does it have to be anything other than fast? I see alot of "ratrods" that are really nice and seem that they would just be a joy to drive...but is that a RAT rod? So i guess in short what is, to you, a ratrod??

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-11-2006, 09:51 PM
AKA:"SLOWRIDE66"take it easy!

Last wiki edit: How to post pictures on a forum
Last journal entry: 85 Suburban
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 38

www.answers.com

rat rod

Rat rod is a newly developed name for the original hot rod style of the early 1950s. A rat rod is usually a vehicle that has had many of its non-critical parts removed. They are usually finished in primer-like paints and are often period correct. They are very often the conglomeration of parts and pieces of different makes and models.