RB's IFS anybody ever installed one?? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2004, 11:23 AM
Sloe Lurner

Last journal entry: front boxing plates
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Question RB's IFS anybody ever installed one??

I'm trying to find a reputable source for a mustang II ifs to install on my 54 chevy truck with a 350/350 drive train. I'm new to a project this old and ease of installation is a plus. I do have access to people who can weld and even a few friend who could help me line this thing up. I've read through alot of the threads here and most people are using Heidts or TCI or Fatman(sp). with mixed results. I am leaning towards TCI if I cant find somebody to recommend RB's Serious Hardware "bolt in" line of IFS. Any input would be great!!

M Jensen

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-13-2004, 05:00 PM

Last journal entry: Left Concave Rocker
Last photo:

I installed a Heidt's Mustang II Stage 2 IFS using tubular upper and lower (strutless) control arms. I was happy with that setup until I decided half way through my project to do a tilt front clip. Unfortunately Darwin's Theory came into play, the minute I changed one thing it affect something else. My frame flexed at the firewall because the fenders were no longer bolted to the firewall. And because I smoothed my firewall I didn't want to clutter it up with bracing the frame with a strut arm from the front of the frame to the firewall. I therefore decided to build an entirely new 2x4 frame with all new front end with Stage 3 components and Air Bags.