Hot Rod Forum banner

Re-wiring a 56 Ford F100

10K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  Jillopy33 
#1 ·
Hi there...I am planning on re-wiring my 56 Ford F100. I have never done any electrical work before and am wondering just how hard it can be. I have looked on line at many different complete wiring kits and don't know which one to get. Is there anyone out there that can give me some advice on what to look for? Or is there anyone that can give me useful tips? Anything will help....

Thanks,

Jill :welcome:

#2 ·
Most people on another forum seem to prefer the "painless" kits. It depends on what all modern electronics and electrical items you will be running on which you buy (how many circuits). I am not sure what is preferred around here.

My 56 has all new wiring, but it is not a modern kit. It is wired like it came from the factory, just with new stuff. None of the old cloth wrapped wires or anything left. :nono:

Then again...mine is a stock vehicle. Well...mostly stock.

#4 ·
When my sons and I rebuilt the Jeep, we reworked the stock wiring harness. If I had to do over I would have bought a kit.

Even reworking the stock harness was not that hard, just very time consuming. My son did most of the actual work with me looking over his shoulder -- he was 15 at the time. We did have to redo some circuits a couple times.

#6 ·
Solder

Ohhhh and always SOLDER connections!

By the way, the kit comes with instructions, the wires are labeled on each wire every few inches where they go, AND they have a customer support line. One tech even offered to give out hi cell phone at a seminar he gave!

Steve

#7 ·
The challenge for most folks when they do a major rewiring job on a vehicle is that you have to be extremely methodical and structured. This is usually not a strong point for shade-tree mechanics. You can sometimes get by with shortcuts, but in most cases taking shortcuts just adds to the overall troubleshooting time.